Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 19 of 19

    BT Line now fixed but router speed down to 1/3

    This is a discussion on BT Line now fixed but router speed down to 1/3 within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by Isitme I thought we had established that your router was at fault, why put it back on? ...

    1. #11
      wannabgeek's Avatar
      wannabgeek is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Clacton-on-sea
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Location
      essex
      Posts
      99
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: BT Line now fixed but router speed down to 1/3

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      I thought we had established that your router was at fault, why put it back on? With your present stats you would be lucky to get 7-8Mbs. Put the other router back on and try it.

      Oh dear sorry,and ive just emailed sky to ask them to return my line back to what it was

      Those initial stats from my old dg834 was ok but only a few minutes later they also went wild and gave me stat below. Also i cannot use this router with sky as its not compatible? (ps i did put this in the thread/sorry for confusion) So should i as sky to send me new router? Thanks

      2nd Stats taken from DG834 v1
      System Up Time: 00:20:08
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 1417 1564 0 521 1274 00:09:57
      LAN 100M/Full 2479 2202 0 999 393 00:20:03
      WLAN 11M/54M 0 0 0 0 0 00:00:00
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3069 kbps 412 kbps
      Line Attenuation 35 db 18 db
      Noise Margin 15 db 2147483647 db
      Last edited by wannabgeek; 12-11-09 at 02:39 PM.
      1.16 direct from Clacton-on-sea,s Holland Rd Exchange
      [1.61 Road]


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: BT Line now fixed but router speed down to 1/3

      Those initial stats from my old dg834 was ok but only a few minutes later they also went wild and gave me stat below.
      If the other router ended up giving you the same result, then it comes back to a fault on your line. Wait till Sky get back to you and see what happens, but I am fairly sure there is a fault on your line or at the exchange.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #13
      wannabgeek's Avatar
      wannabgeek is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Clacton-on-sea
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Location
      essex
      Posts
      99
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: BT Line now fixed but router speed down to 1/3

      Thanks for reply.

      Yes it seems strange as my connection has always been ok before my tel/BB went down last week.
      Could this be the cause :The overhead telegraph cable BT replaced was damaged due to a tree branch rubbing it down to copper inner. Ive since noticed there is still branches around newly installed cable so maybe that's whats causing this problem? I have asked if BT can lop of problematic tree branch but they said its up to the council as road needs to be closed off....But saying that this tree branch has been there a long while, i don't know maybe its grown more? Will BT comeback out for this router problem? I imagine all they are interested in is my phone is now working! Any help will be greatly appreciated as i have not got a clue what to say to them and my online gaming is suffering beause of this problem and i cannot wait till its sorted!
      cheers again for helping

      Here are my latest stats taken at 7pm tonite. Is it still as bad ps?

      System Up Time: 28:04:43 (last stats 12 nov 09 evening)
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 281178 371920 0 1127 20500 06:17:19
      LAN 100M/Full 679579 527746 0 8225 673 28:04:38
      WLAN 11M/54M 0 0 0 0 0 00:00:00
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3069 kbps 412 kbps
      Line Attenuation 35 db 18 db
      Noise Margin 17 db 22 db
      Last edited by wannabgeek; 12-11-09 at 08:47 PM.
      1.16 direct from Clacton-on-sea,s Holland Rd Exchange
      [1.61 Road]

    5. #14
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: BT Line now fixed but router speed down to 1/3

      Your noise margin seems to be jumping around a lot. Download and run Router Stat Lite for 24 hours and see if there is any pattern.-
      Internet Software

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #15
      wannabgeek's Avatar
      wannabgeek is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Clacton-on-sea
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Location
      essex
      Posts
      99
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: BT Line now fixed but router speed down to 1/3

      Sorry for late reply been away at work....I have tried the routerstats program on both my routers (dg934 dg834) but i am getting 'Socket Error # 10013
      Access denied' I am on XP
      Also could it be possible sky have changed my line to adsl2/DLM as ive noticed my attenuation has changed from a constant 36 db 9 db to 35 db 18 db, and this happened when my probs started? Thanks again isitme

      PS i will keep on top of my noise variations and post back tomorrow
      Last edited by wannabgeek; 18-11-09 at 10:44 PM.
      1.16 direct from Clacton-on-sea,s Holland Rd Exchange
      [1.61 Road]

    7. #16
      wannabgeek's Avatar
      wannabgeek is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Clacton-on-sea
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Location
      essex
      Posts
      99
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: BT Line now fixed but router speed down to 1/3

      Ive been watching my SNR the past 24hrs and my downstream noise is mostly stuck at a constant 17db but will occasionally drop to 15db. My upstream noise is always at 25db. Attenuation is always 35 db - 18 db. Hope this has helped as i still cannot run routerstatslite. Thanks



      Router Statistics

      System Up Time: 131:19:21
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 203311 351682 0 271 2728 22:46:13
      LAN 100M/Full 1322399 1271942 0 2280 747 131:19:16
      WLAN 11M/54M 0 0 0 0 0 00:00:00
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3069 kbps 412 kbps
      Line Attenuation 35 db 18 db
      Noise Margin 17 db 25 db
      1.16 direct from Clacton-on-sea,s Holland Rd Exchange
      [1.61 Road]

    8. #17
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: BT Line now fixed but router speed down to 1/3

      I think you should phone Sky now and ask them if DLM is running on your line. If they say it is ask them to suspend it as your speed has not changed for 10 days. If they say it is not, ask them to manually reconfigure your line as DLM has left it crippled. Tell them you had over 9 Mb previously.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #18
      skyconnectsufferer's Avatar
      skyconnectsufferer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: holland on sea
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet pro
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      89
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: BT Line now fixed but router speed down to 1/3

      hello wannabgeek i am also from clacton although i recently moved to holland so i am now on that exchange rather than the clacton one.wherebouts in clacton r u roughly?near town or more towards great clacton? i used to live down hayes road which was great for sky mid,i was gutted cos they turned on the upto 20meg service on the exchange bout 4 days after i moved but just to say once u get ya line sorted for the fault if it is to do wit the copper line damage then u should get a good speed like u have been told already

    10. #19
      wannabgeek's Avatar
      wannabgeek is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Clacton-on-sea
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Location
      essex
      Posts
      99
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: BT Line now fixed but router speed down to 1/3

      Quote Originally Posted by skyconnectsufferer View Post
      hello wannabgeek i am also from clacton although i recently moved to holland so i am now on that exchange rather than the clacton one.wherebouts in clacton r u roughly?near town or more towards great clacton? i used to live down hayes road which was great for sky mid,i was gutted cos they turned on the upto 20meg service on the exchange bout 4 days after i moved but just to say once u get ya line sorted for the fault if it is to do wit the copper line damage then u should get a good speed like u have been told already
      Thanks for your help! Yes i am in the Gt clacton area. I did actually have a very stable 9-12mbs for years up until recently but since this BT line problem my speed has dropped terribly and my pings are well in the 3 numerals and so hence my gaming Sucks big time. Cheers
      1.16 direct from Clacton-on-sea,s Holland Rd Exchange
      [1.61 Road]

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION