Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 18

    Boy is this SKY connection slow

    This is a discussion on Boy is this SKY connection slow within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; New to Sky broadband, I just moved house, and getting a really sluggish connection here. Im on the SKy broadband ...

    1. #1
      dantheman's Avatar
      dantheman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Boy is this SKY connection slow

      New to Sky broadband, I just moved house, and getting a really sluggish connection here. Im on the SKy broadband everyday package, supposedly up to 10Mb
      Im getting around 3000Kbps on various speed tests. Browsing sucks.

      Here are some router stats. Could anyone recommend a plan of action?

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 6140 kbps 252 kbps
      Line Attenuation 28 db 12 db
      Noise Margin 14 db 2147483647 db


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Boy is this SKY connection slow

      If your new to Sky then chances are you are on DLM and your speeds will increase uto the 10mb that your line should get.

      The only problem I can see is that your upstream noise margin has hit rock bottom, this can be caused by either not using a filter or having one fitted in the wrong place.

      Please check every phone socket that is in use to ensure that a filter is the FIRST thing plugged into it, Sky installers have a habit of fitting a two way plug in first.

      Also, if you are using wireless, try a wire and get a s[eedtest from this sites speedchecker.

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Boy is this SKY connection slow

      You should take your stats from the Test socket, link below and post them. Your internal wiring could be interfering.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      dantheman's Avatar
      dantheman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Boy is this SKY connection slow

      There is no test socket in my house. All i have is 2 small square boxes with one telephone socket in each. I dont appear to have a master socket. Both these boxes run back on separate cables to an external grey box on the wall outside my house.

      Since starting this thread I got to speak to Sky tech support, level 2. The guy 'boosted' the speed on my line and now I get theses stats:
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 9113 kbps 748 kbps
      Line Attenuation 28 db 12 db
      Noise Margin 8 db 8 db

      The problem now is I get very slow page loading times almost all of the time. Im talking 2 minutes to load google.com. If i reboot the router it sorts it out for a few minutes but then soon goes back to very, very slow.

    6. #5
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Boy is this SKY connection slow

      Your phone sockets are wired incorrectly.

      You should have only one connection from the main outside line, this should go to your master socket and then the second socket should be ran from that.

      What you have now is causing noise on the line and interfering with your ADSL signal.

      You shoud see aroung 14mb with your attenuation if the phone line was sorted.

      The bits to fix this yourself will cost around 30 and a couple of hours in time.

    7. #6
      dantheman's Avatar
      dantheman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Boy is this SKY connection slow

      Thanks for that response.

      If I had to wire this in myself I would have to open up the grey box that is fixed to the front of my neighbours house. (some cables lead in to his house and some in to mine from the same box) Im not sure he would be keen on that and isnt that going to be a BT piece of kit?
      I was under the impression that BT own any hardware outside of my house and I cant start undoing boxes and rewiring them!
      My landline (line rental) is with Sky too, do you think they would come and fix it?

    8. #7
      Charlieclark's Avatar
      Charlieclark is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Boy is this SKY connection slow

      Sorry wrong thread lol.

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Boy is this SKY connection slow

      My landline (line rental) is with Sky too, do you think they would come and fix it?
      You can try, but they are likely to quote a charge of about 100+ to fix it.

      All you need to do is open the box and disconnect the wires going to one of your sockets. Which one you choose is up to you, but you should have a look inside the sockets first. One or both of them should have a capacitor and other bits and pieces. This is the master socket and if possible choose this one to leave connected. If both or neither have capacitors, it will not matter which one you choose.

      You will not be interfering with your neighbours connection, as it will be connected to a different set of incoming wires. There is no need to touch these. When you have removed the wires, check your stats again, you should see a marked improvement.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      dantheman's Avatar
      dantheman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Boy is this SKY connection slow

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      You can try, but they are likely to quote a charge of about 100+ to fix it.

      All you need to do is open the box and disconnect the wires going to one of your sockets. Which one you choose is up to you, but you should have a look inside the sockets first. One or both of them should have a capacitor and other bits and pieces. This is the master socket and if possible choose this one to leave connected. If both or neither have capacitors, it will not matter which one you choose.

      You will not be interfering with your neighbours connection, as it will be connected to a different set of incoming wires. There is no need to touch these. When you have removed the wires, check your stats again, you should see a marked improvement.
      Interestingly I just managed to get Sky to arrange an upgrade date with BT. They are sending an engineer next week to install a master socket. No charge was mentioned.
      Ill post again after they have been.

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Boy is this SKY connection slow

      Make sure he removes the extra wire from the junction box or it will be a waste of time.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION