Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
    Results 31 to 40 of 40

    Broadband/Master socket issue

    This is a discussion on Broadband/Master socket issue within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; So i think i will get new faceplate Not just a new one, a filtered one...

    1. #31
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Broadband/Master socket issue

      So i think i will get new faceplate
      Not just a new one, a filtered one

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #32
      duncansau80's Avatar
      duncansau80 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Location
      Cumbernauld
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband/Master socket issue

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Not just a new one, a filtered one
      yea well that goes without saying...

    4. #33
      Rajeevx5's Avatar
      Rajeevx5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: South Harrow 0208
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Location
      Harrow
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband/Master socket issue

      Quote Originally Posted by neilmcl View Post
      The first thing I'd do when he's been and gone is remove the Sky HD box cable for good, I know what it says in the contract T&Cs but as long as you don't have multiroom you'll be fine.
      Well This will lead to no interactive services sky anytime. Also Sky bill, And even you wont be able to do remotte record form your laptop or mobile


      My actual server should be london but it goes so slow

    5. #34
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband/Master socket issue

      Yes you wont be able to use the interactive services, but that's no loss, and you can see your bill just as easily via the internet. You don't have to be hooked up to the phone line to use Remote Record.

    6. #35
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Broadband/Master socket issue

      Yep, it means the kids will not run up a bill playing stupid games for one thing. It will make no difference to Anytime or Remote Record, which are downloaded via the dish. If you want to book a film or event, you can plug it in when required. I suppose it is useful being able to check your bill on TV if you don't have broadband, but if you can check your bill at any time on line, why use the TV.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #36
      duncansau80's Avatar
      duncansau80 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Location
      Cumbernauld
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband/Master socket issue

      well i got a brand new box installed today and its plugged into phone line at moment and no issues with no loss of internet. But i did do a speed test and it seems to be running very slow at moment

      below is the stats taken with router plugged into test socket and cable connected into router from laptop

      System Up Time 00:05:36
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 4586 8667 0 3205 44858 00:04:07
      LAN 10M/100M 8169 4912 0 33987 2827 00:05:33
      WLAN 11M/54M 100 0 0 66 0 00:05:25


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2047 kbps 606 kbps
      Line Attenuation 47.0 db 27.4 db
      Noise Margin 27.9 db 17.0 db

      any ideas on how to improve as i have ran the tcpoptimiser and its still very low speeds

      cheers

    8. #37
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Broadband/Master socket issue

      Your line is very heavily capped, phone Sky and ask them to configure your line. Tell them you have ade improvements to your wiring.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #38
      duncansau80's Avatar
      duncansau80 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Location
      Cumbernauld
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband/Master socket issue

      ahhh ok....i did try and sort the speed at start of year and i was getting about 6mb which i was happy enough getting but going back down to less than 2mb aint much fun

      cheers for advice

    10. #39
      duncansau80's Avatar
      duncansau80 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Location
      Cumbernauld
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband/Master socket issue

      i will phone them up once i get the new filtered masterplate and then see what they can do with the capping situation

    11. #40
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Broadband/Master socket issue

      I wouldn't wait, you have a very high noise margin so will get the speed now.

     

     
    Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION