Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 20

    Keep Losing Sync every minute

    This is a discussion on Keep Losing Sync every minute within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi all, Right i noticed this problem last night.. firstly i noticed my speed had decreased from its usual 16mb ...

    1. #1
      afclegend81's Avatar
      afclegend81 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Denburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Keep Losing Sync every minute

      Hi all,

      Right i noticed this problem last night..

      firstly i noticed my speed had decreased from its usual 16mb to 1.5mb, i restarted the router which is the netgear DG934G, but this did not improve the situation. I then picked up my telephone and there was no tone at all, i decided to try and dial a number anyway when i did this a tone kicked into life very strange, my broadband connection then restarted and i was back up to 14mb, i thought this was is sorted but this morning i noticed the exact same problem did the same thing and same result. But now the connection keeps dropping out and resyncing every 1 minute or so. Also when i lift my phone reciever i have now noticed that my broadband connection also drops out at the sametime ahh its doing my head in. Also noticed the noise margin goes to this silly number of 2147483647 db for the downstream I have attached a screenshot.


      I have conntacted sky and i found there was a lot of noise on my line during the call which was to the broadband help, they transfered me to the sky talk and while i was on hold all the static noise disapeared and all was good with the line, they checked the line and said it was fine.

      But my connection still drops out all the time and I still have the problem of when i lift the reciever the connection drops at the sametime.

      I 'm connected to the master socket, i have also tried the test socket but this produces the same results.

      Any help would be great

      many thanks
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Keep Losing Sync every minute-noise-margin.jpg  


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Keep Losing Sync every minute

      Have you tried the test socket?

      You seem to have a major fault with the line, if you pay your line rental to BT ring them and tell them you have a very noisey line, do not mention broadband. They should find the fault and send an engineer out once he sorts it your broadband should come back.

      How Sky cannot see this is beyond me, it is bloody obvious!!!

    4. #3
      afclegend81's Avatar
      afclegend81 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Denburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Keep Losing Sync every minute

      yeah i get the same problems though the test socket too. My line rental is through sky also, after a second call they noticed the noise problems, but think its the router and sending another one hmmm not sure that'l work though

    5. #4
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Keep Losing Sync every minute

      Unplug the router and then do a quiet line test, pick up the phone and press one number, listen for any noise, if there is it's your line.

    6. #5
      afclegend81's Avatar
      afclegend81 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Denburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Keep Losing Sync every minute

      Just tried m8, there dosn't seem to be any noise when i do this. After i plugged back in i lifted the reciever again, then the connection dropped off once more, ahhh

    7. #6
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Keep Losing Sync every minute

      Have you swapped the ADSL filter?

      Also, what's it like directly into the master/test socket with no phone connected?

    8. #7
      afclegend81's Avatar
      afclegend81 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Denburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Keep Losing Sync every minute

      Yeah changed the filter also changed all cables etc.. and have tried just the router directly into the master/test socket all same results. I have run out of ideas now

    9. #8
      afclegend81's Avatar
      afclegend81 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Denburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Keep Losing Sync every minute

      Just been watchin the stats, the noise margin jumps all over the place goes to 14 then 9 then 8 down to 5 sometimes lower then goes to 2147483647db thats the point connection goes. The line attunation is all over the place too sometimes 20s then 30s then 40s different each time i connect!!!

    10. #9
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Keep Losing Sync every minute

      Well I suppose it could be the router, do you have another one you could try?

    11. #10
      afclegend81's Avatar
      afclegend81 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Denburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Keep Losing Sync every minute

      I do have one Netgear DG834G but i was havning trouble following the guide for non-sky routers, think its the password bit i'm struggling with i'll keep at, thanks for all your advice m8

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION