Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 13

    awfull internet speeds

    This is a discussion on awfull internet speeds within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; hi there, we have sky broadband at home but im not overly sure which package it is, or how to ...

    1. #1
      mtmo25's Avatar
      mtmo25 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Astley Bridge
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      awfull internet speeds

      hi there, we have sky broadband at home but im not overly sure which package it is, or how to find out! But my internet speeds are appauling, i have checked the router and also done the online test and get these results,

      Distance:- Direct:
      2.03 mi
      (appx)* By Road:
      2.2 mi
      Service Enabled On
      ADSL Enabled: September 30, 2001
      DSL Max Enabled: March 31, 2006
      SDSL Not enabled: No Info
      21CN due: (PSTN) No Info
      21CN WBC: (Broadband) March 21, 2009
      Your BT Line Speed Estimation
      Fixed ADSL: 1024 (1 Mb)
      DSL Max: 3500 (3 Mb)

      with speedtest.net giving me a figure of .86mb downstream, when i used to check my router connection the downstream connection used to read 2024, but now its fixed at 1024??

      why is this? and is there anything i can do about it?

      thanks for your help in advance, and i eagerly await your replies!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: awfull internet speeds

      There is a good chance that you have been moved to ADSL2+ which is not suiting your line. Post the stat from your normal position and from the Test socket. Details on how to do this can be found in the Quick Links box on the Left.

      If you have the DG834GT router, go here and get your detailed stats, don't bother posting the Ping section, it is not required.
      Mel's Notes: Dg834gt-1skuk

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      mtmo25's Avatar
      mtmo25 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Astley Bridge
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: awfull internet speeds

      okay dokey, thank you very much for the mega quick reply! hoping this can be my saturday afternoon job haha, here are my stats from the routers current position:
      ppp0 Link encap:Point-Point Protocol
      inet addr:90.195.55.184 P-t-P:195.189.159.139 Mask:255.255.255.255
      UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
      RX packets:110994 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
      TX packets:57555 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
      collisions:0 txqueuelen:3
      RX bytes:143835116 (137.1 MiB) TX bytes:5596350 (5.3 MiB)

      Uptime 2176.64 2064.86
      Wan up 41.68 30.28
      adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: ShowtimeRetrain Reason: 0
      Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 606 Kbps, Downstream rate = 1023 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: U:ON /D:ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 18.8 11.5
      Attn(dB): 53.5 34.9
      Pwr(dBm): 11.5 12.8
      Max(Kbps): 3428 708
      Rate (Kbps): 1023 606
      G.dmt framing
      K: 16(0) 19
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 4
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 61 68
      B: 15 18
      M: 1 8
      T: 2 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 0.4848 7.5932
      L: 528 177
      D: 64 4
      Counters
      SF: 132518 126534
      SFErr: 0 11
      RS: 17757544 1131468
      RSCorr: 679 105
      RSUnCorr: 0 0

      HEC: 0 11
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 5192298 3080137
      Data Cells: 3079568 168948
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 0 11
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 14 19
      AS: 2153

      INP: 7.75 1.44
      PER: 16.24 17.55
      delay: 7.75 7.59
      OR: 33.00 33.71

      Bitswap: 0 52

      Total time = 36 min 16 sec
      SF = 132518
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 1 day time = 36 min 16 sec
      SF = 132518
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 15 minutes time = 6 min 16 sec
      SF = 23156
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55392
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 53970
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Showtime Drop Reason: 0
      Last Retrain Reason: 0
      ChipSet Vendor Id: GSPN:0x 10
      ChipSet VersionNumber:
      ChipSet SerialNumber:

      i shall go and test from the test socket now, thanks again

    5. #4
      mtmo25's Avatar
      mtmo25 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Astley Bridge
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: awfull internet speeds

      ahh, i don't have a test socket...

      followed the incoming cable in, it gets to a white bt junction box, then to a old faceplate which is where my router plugs in, no test socket, does this shed any light on the situation?

    6. #5
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: awfull internet speeds

      you're capped...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    7. #6
      mtmo25's Avatar
      mtmo25 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Astley Bridge
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: awfull internet speeds

      how do you know?
      what does this mean?
      why am i capped?
      and what can i do about it!?

      thanks again

    8. #7
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: awfull internet speeds

      stats show you're SNR (noise margin) is high (7dB is the default) and you can also see the maximum the line is capable off...

      SNR (dB): 18.8 11.5 < high, default is 7dB
      Attn(dB): 53.5 34.9
      Pwr(dBm): 11.5 12.8
      Max(Kbps): 3428 708 < max line can currently give
      Rate (Kbps): 1023 606

      a call to Sky tech to get to CST will sort you out...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    9. #8
      mtmo25's Avatar
      mtmo25 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Astley Bridge
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: awfull internet speeds

      excellent, thanks very much for your help, what is CST again?

      is it still all the tier 1 tier 2 tier 3 business? as ive had trouble actually getting to talk to sky tech before!

      just to confirm when i finally get through to them, shall i just explain that my noise level is high etc?

      you have been very helpfull and thanks for your time!

    10. #9
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: awfull internet speeds

      now there's Tier 1 and CST (Customer Solutions Team) are Tier 2/3 combined...CST can sort it for you in a second...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    11. #10
      mtmo25's Avatar
      mtmo25 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Astley Bridge
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: awfull internet speeds

      on the phone now....

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION