Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 17 of 17

    Sky "i" Light not working And not getting promised 20mbps Speed

    This is a discussion on Sky "i" Light not working And not getting promised 20mbps Speed within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Do you mind me asking how many mbps download speed you get as your on max aswell...

    1. #11
      Rajeevx5's Avatar
      Rajeevx5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: South Harrow 0208
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Location
      Harrow
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky "i" Light not working And not getting promised 20mbps Speed

      Do you mind me asking how many mbps download speed you get as your on max aswell


      My actual server should be london but it goes so slow


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Rajeevx5's Avatar
      Rajeevx5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: South Harrow 0208
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Location
      Harrow
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky "i" Light not working And not getting promised 20mbps Speed

      No internet light at all And only a bit of light comes through due to the light on right next to it. Heres my wiring. Router>Mini Socket>Wired into master socket with filter. Thats it from my router. Then a splitter on the telephone part of the filter and telephone. Btw i disconnected the bell line. Only 2 Telephone sockets one right next to my router and one matster socket.


      My actual server should be london but it goes so slow

    4. #13
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Sky "i" Light not working And not getting promised 20mbps Speed

      Quote Originally Posted by Rajeevx5 View Post
      No internet light at all And only a bit of light comes through due to the light on right next to it. Heres my wiring. Router>Mini Socket>Wired into master socket with filter. Thats it from my router. Then a splitter on the telephone part of the filter and telephone. Btw i disconnected the bell line. Only 2 Telephone sockets one right next to my router and one matster socket.
      Ahh right, I'm with you now. You mean the LED on the router seems to have broken but you're able to sync ok though? I wouldn't necessarily worry about that but you could call sky and get a new one sent out.

      As a rough estimate from your attenuation, you'd perhaps be looking to push out about 10-11mb. You can see from your SNR that there is room for more speed. However, if possible then plug into your test socket and re-take the stats to see if there is any more difference in the SNR.

    5. #14
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Sky "i" Light not working And not getting promised 20mbps Speed

      Quote Originally Posted by Rajeevx5 View Post
      The man Said 10- 20 mbps and that was a totall lie as i checked it on bt the other day and it was 5mbps.
      Going by your stats, he is about right, your stats give a much better estimate than the out of date BT data.

      Quote Originally Posted by Rajeevx5 View Post
      They say in november theyll be switching to adsl2 +.
      All Sky LLU is already capable of ADSL2 and anything over 8mb is already on it

      Quote Originally Posted by Rajeevx5 View Post
      As soon as my dad put the phone down and increase on broadband speed straight away. I knowi shud wait 10 days.
      Yes you should, your speed will start at 4mb and as DLM runs it will increase the speed until it reaches it's maximum stable speed, in your case around 10mb with a bit of luck

      Quote Originally Posted by Rajeevx5 View Post
      But my mate who lives nextdoor is on 20 meg and only gets 3.
      He may have any number of problems, you cannot base your speed on what your neighbours have

      Quote Originally Posted by Rajeevx5 View Post
      Also the i light on my net gear router soesnt work.
      I would ignore this for now as you are clearly connecting to the exchange. Wait for DLM to finish, don't turn off the router during this time. If it really does annoy you that much, ring Sky and get them to send out another router

      Also, I wouldn't rely on Speedtest.net too much, it is one of the worst speed test sites out there. You could try the speed tester on this site, it is less used and should give a better result.

    6. #15
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Sky "i" Light not working And not getting promised 20mbps Speed

      Get a set of stats from test socket and also clarify your setup (start from master socket and work out instead of backwards from router) this will help people tell you what to expect.

    7. #16
      Rajeevx5's Avatar
      Rajeevx5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: South Harrow 0208
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Location
      Harrow
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky "i" Light not working And not getting promised 20mbps Speed

      No, We called Sky for a new routour And they say we cant send out a new routour. THe i light works wehen you reboot the routour but then it goes off. I read in another forum this may be due to the dsl signal?


      My actual server should be london but it goes so slow

    8. #17
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Sky "i" Light not working And not getting promised 20mbps Speed

      Your router is connecting fine otherwise you would have no internet, it is just a dodgy led, ignore it at least for now.

      Get the TEST socket stats.

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION