Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Slow sky bb

    This is a discussion on Slow sky bb within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi just wondering if anyone can help me with my crappy slow speeds i been getting for more that a ...

    1. #1
      rebelbhoy's Avatar
      rebelbhoy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: ayr
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Location
      ayr
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Slow sky bb

      Hi just wondering if anyone can help me with my crappy slow speeds i been getting for more that a week now. Ive contacted sky but they seem to be doing nothing.


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1280 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 59.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 6.7 db 9.0 db


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow sky bb

      If you have a test socket (see: Test Master Socket in Quick Links), plug your router into that via its supplied microfilter and nothing else and repost your stats.

    4. #3
      rebelbhoy's Avatar
      rebelbhoy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: ayr
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Location
      ayr
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow sky bb

      Bit of a noob.so not really sure about the test socket. I`ll give it a go.

    5. #4
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow sky bb

      Quote Originally Posted by rebelbhoy View Post
      Bit of a noob.so not really sure about the test socket. I`ll give it a go.
      This is the link I was referring to How to test your ADSL in the Master Socket

      This and other useful links can be seen in the SkyUser Quick Links section on the left of this page.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Slow sky bb

      There is nothing Sky can do, you are getting as much speed as you can with your present setup. Do as Neil suggests and post your stats from the Test socket.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      rebelbhoy's Avatar
      rebelbhoy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: ayr
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Location
      ayr
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow sky bb

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      There is nothing Sky can do, you are getting as much speed as you can with your present setup. Do as Neil suggests and post your stats from the Test socket.

      i have been getting double that for the past 3 month. Ive been downloading alot and feel like i am getting capped or something.

    8. #7
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Slow sky bb

      We need your test socket stats to say what's happening.

    9. #8
      rebelbhoy's Avatar
      rebelbhoy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: ayr
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Location
      ayr
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow sky bb

      Do i need to take my full pc to the test socket or just the modem ?
      sorry for my noobish questions

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Slow sky bb

      You will have to be connected to the router in some way to get the stats from it. Either wired or wireless, it does not matter.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      rebelbhoy's Avatar
      rebelbhoy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: ayr
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Location
      ayr
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow sky bb

      No worrys man.. Not set up for wireless so i will take the pc to the master socket.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION