Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 20 of 20

    Max speed? router stats attached

    This is a discussion on Max speed? router stats attached within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; That is the training speed for Unlimited. You cut off the noise margin in your stats but you will find ...

    1. #11
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Max speed? router stats attached

      That is the training speed for Unlimited. You cut off the noise margin in your stats but you will find that it is up in the 20s maybe even the 30s. Don't turn off or reboot your router for the next 10 days and by then you should be getting the maximum.

      Don't waste your time ringing Sky.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      J4G4's Avatar
      J4G4 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dumbarton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Max speed? router stats attached

      too late mate rebooted weekend, doesnt look like its training now although it did say upto 72 hrs which is tomorrow.

      stats now

      System Up Time: 03:37:45

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 6386 8782 0 120 743 03:36:08
      LAN 100M/Full 420 0 0 3 0 03:37:40
      WLAN 11M/54M 9379 6684 0 762 123 03:37:28
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 10237 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 10 db 4 db
      Noise Margin 16 db 8 db

      still getting 3.5mb at desktop

    4. #13
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Max speed? router stats attached

      still getting 3.5mb at desktop
      That is a wireless problem. Invest in a set of Homeplugs and get the full speed available. Wireless is useful on a laptop, but you can't beat a wired connection for a fixed machine.
      This will give you an idea of what you need, but good deals are available on eBay.-
      HomePlug AV | Broadbandbuyer.co.uk

      You still have a good bit of speed to come.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #14
      J4G4's Avatar
      J4G4 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dumbarton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Max speed? router stats attached

      hi

      latest stats:

      Router StatisticsSystem Up Time: 12:20:21

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 31550 42398 0 161 801 12:18:44
      LAN 100M/Full 1659 0 0 4 0 12:20:16
      WLAN 11M/54M 40903 32241 0 814 162 12:20:04
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 10237 kbps 814 kbps
      Line Attenuation 10 db 4 db
      Noise Margin 16 db 8 db

      Does this mean 10mb is max i'll get as its been a while now since i ordered upgrade? im on unlimited.

    6. #15
      krysis's Avatar
      krysis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BT
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Belfast
      Posts
      301
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Max speed? router stats attached

      Quote Originally Posted by J4G4 View Post
      hi

      latest stats:

      Router StatisticsSystem Up Time: 12:20:21

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 31550 42398 0 161 801 12:18:44
      LAN 100M/Full 1659 0 0 4 0 12:20:16
      WLAN 11M/54M 40903 32241 0 814 162 12:20:04
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 10237 kbps 814 kbps
      Line Attenuation 10 db 4 db
      Noise Margin 16 db 8 db

      Does this mean 10mb is max i'll get as its been a while now since i ordered upgrade? im on unlimited.
      It will increase, give it time! It's not going to jump up in a few hours!

      With that attenuation you should see 20mb.
      Give it time! Patience is a Virtue!

      Your noise margin is high, meaning there is a lot of room for improvement on your sync speed!

      Wait another day or so, you will see.

    7. #16
      J4G4's Avatar
      J4G4 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dumbarton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Max speed? router stats attached

      lol i have been patient! ordered it 30th October surely it must be complete by now?

      will i give them a ring?

      thanks for the assistance.

    8. #17
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Max speed? router stats attached

      Over 2 weeks should be plenty time to train, phone Sky and ask them to configure your line for its best speed. If they say DLM is still running, ask them to suspend it and do your line manually as it has not moved for 15 days.


      @krysis
      Don't you agree that 15 days at the same speed is going to stretch anyone's patience?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #18
      J4G4's Avatar
      J4G4 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dumbarton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Max speed? router stats attached

      Thanks a lot

      i called sky and they manually adjusted the speed, now getting 17mb!!

      so i'll monitor the line for stability in the coming days.

      great, good job guys.

    10. #19
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Max speed? router stats attached

      If your internal set up is OK you should get pretty near 20 Mb. Try plugging into your Test socket and see if the speed and/or noise margin increase.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #20
      krysis's Avatar
      krysis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BT
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Belfast
      Posts
      301
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Max speed? router stats attached

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post

      @krysis
      Don't you agree that 15 days at the same speed is going to stretch anyone's patience?
      Sorry I didn't see the date of the thread start!! My bad bud! lol!!

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION