Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Wireless Access Point in roof?

    This is a discussion on Wireless Access Point in roof? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hey all so my room is full of cables, because it's where my routers are based. I have purchased a ...

    1. #1
      Maximus007's Avatar
      Maximus007 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Wireless Access Point in roof?

      Hey all so my room is full of cables, because it's where my routers are based. I have purchased a Cisco catalyst 24 port switch, and I'm going to move it into the roof. At the moment I use my Linksys WAG354G router as the access point to the house, would it be more beneficial if I moved the access point into the roof as well, to provide better overall coverage of the house. I live in a bungalow.

      I was thinking about moving the sky router up there as well, it’s currently connected via a BT adsl kit. But If I move it into the roof I can make the cable even shorter, thus getting a better signal with less noise?

      Anyway cheers for any input James.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Wireless Access Point in roof?

      Sounds like a good plan. The only thing you might need to watch is the temperature in the loft in summer time. It can get very hot, which is not very good for any type of electronic device. Make sure you have some sort of ventilation for it.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      Maximus007's Avatar
      Maximus007 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wireless Access Point in roof?

      Ah I was worried about the heat myself. The switch is a catalyst 2900XL enterprise switch so it's going to generate a lot of heat. Scored it for 25 though bargain. Do you think there's any risk of fire though?

    5. #4
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Wireless Access Point in roof?

      Thats a good idea, but do bear in mind the temp in the loft in summer as Tom has said.

      Why not take this one step further and get a cheap second hand Speedtouch 585v6 router and use that in the loft and keep the sky router safe if you ever need it. I have done this in the past and fitted the router in a new, larger, metal case with plenty of holes in it.

    6. #5
      Maximus007's Avatar
      Maximus007 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wireless Access Point in roof?

      Quote Originally Posted by Brian69 View Post
      Thats a good idea, but do bear in mind the temp in the loft in summer as Tom has said.

      Why not take this one step further and get a cheap second hand Speedtouch 585v6 router and use that in the loft and keep the sky router safe if you ever need it.
      Hmm sounds intresting(runs to off to ebay)

    7. #6
      Maximus007's Avatar
      Maximus007 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wireless Access Point in roof?

      I just finished the move. Wireless has improved before I was getting,2-3 bars at the far end of the house now i'm getting full bars. Connection has improved from 4.6mb average to a stable 5.3mb stats below. All and all it went well and i'm happy with the results.
      Attached Images Attached Images

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION