Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 16 of 16

    think there is something wrong with my broadband

    This is a discussion on think there is something wrong with my broadband within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Was your Sky box splitter the first thing plugged into that socket, if it was then this was probably the ...

    1. #11
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: think there is something wrong with my broadband

      Was your Sky box splitter the first thing plugged into that socket, if it was then this was probably the cause of your problems.

      As you can see from your stats you have a big noise margin figure which should see quite an increase in your speed but you'll now need to contact Sky and ask them to reconfigure your connection.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: think there is something wrong with my broadband

      You have now found the root of your problem, the telephone connection to your Sky+ box does not run through a filter but just a splitter.
      You need to fit a filter to the connection and then contact Sky as your speed has been capped.
      Unless you have more than one Sky box, you could always leave the Sky box disconnect from the phone line.

    4. #13
      newarkcastle's Avatar
      newarkcastle is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01636 - newark
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: think there is something wrong with my broadband

      yes the sky splitter was the first thing plugged into my socket....
      thanks very much for all your ( specially neilmcl )help pretty much useless when it comes to this kind of thing......so i take it i cant just plug the sky + splitter in and out as i need it?

    5. #14
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: think there is something wrong with my broadband

      TBH, if you don't have a multiromm subscription then you can leave it disconnected, you'd only need it if you use the interactive services on Sky. If you do reconnect it though make sure it is plugged into the microfilter, not the other way round as you previously had it.

    6. #15
      newarkcastle's Avatar
      newarkcastle is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01636 - newark
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: think there is something wrong with my broadband

      ok spoke to sky and all sorted for now although they said if i fixed my master socket i could get even better speeds! cant tell ya how happy i am, thanks very much

      my current stats

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 6715 kbps 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 47.0 db 27.0 db
      Noise Margin 6.8 db 13.0 db

    7. #16
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: think there is something wrong with my broadband

      Even with a new socket you wouldn't be able to improve those stats much, that's pretty much the best you're likely to get given your line attenuation.

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION