Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Upgrade to 20MB problems

    This is a discussion on Upgrade to 20MB problems within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; OK for a year my connection was about 5000 kbps download and 350 kbps upload on the Sky Mid package. ...

    1. #1
      rocket12's Avatar
      rocket12 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: slough main
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Upgrade to 20MB problems

      OK for a year my connection was about 5000 kbps download and 350 kbps upload on the Sky Mid package. Sky then said that they will be improving my connection and a couple of months ago my stats were 4096 kbps download and 604kbps upload. As my speed dropped I decided to upgrade to the Sky Max to see if I could get my speed back but all I get is 3069 kbps Download and 796kbps Upload. I upgraded last thursday so it has been 4 days. Is there anything I could do to get my speed back. I havent changed anything about my connection or router or phone line it has been the same the whole year. Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Upgrade to 20MB problems

      you'll be on DLM, post your stats for a decent explanation...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      rocket12's Avatar
      rocket12 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: slough main
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Upgrade to 20MB problems

      System Up Time: 74:50:37
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 409449 422061 0 449 3068 34:51:57
      LAN 100M/Full 283599 472589 0 463 259 74:50:32
      WLAN 11M/54M 1852925 1083503 0 9210 381 74:50:19
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3069 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 45 db 25 db
      Noise Margin 14 db 15 db

    5. #4
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Upgrade to 20MB problems

      seems something's not right - I mean you won't see anywhere near 20Mbps (will be lucky to see near 10Mbps) but looks like DLM has seen something it doesn't like...leave the router on (in the test socket if possible) and leave it a week and if it doesn't improve call Sky...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #5
      rocket12's Avatar
      rocket12 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: slough main
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Upgrade to 20MB problems

      Ok thanks, the router was switched off a few days ago by accident could this of had a possible effect.

    7. #6
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,370
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Upgrade to 20MB problems

      Quote Originally Posted by rocket12 View Post
      Ok thanks, the router was switched off a few days ago by accident could this of had a possible effect.
      Turning off the router could cause problems with DLM, but you need to post your stats from the test socket, link below in my sig with details.

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Upgrade to 20MB problems

      If you only got 5Mb on Mid you are unlikely to get much more on Max, unless your internal wiring is in a poor state, As IANTE suggests, plug into the test socket and take your stats from there and post them here. Don't worry too much about DLM as it appears to be messed up already.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      rocket12's Avatar
      rocket12 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: slough main
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Upgrade to 20MB problems

      I couldnt find the test socket there is only 1 phone socket downstairs and it doesnt have that sort of faceplate

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION