Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 18 of 18

    Is it possible to increase upload speed

    This is a discussion on Is it possible to increase upload speed within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Also check that all other extensions are dead and not working. If any are then they are wired incorrectly and ...

    1. #11
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Is it possible to increase upload speed

      Also check that all other extensions are dead and not working. If any are then they are wired incorrectly and could be causing your problems.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      rhonddapaul's Avatar
      rhonddapaul is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01443
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      South Wales Valleys, UK
      Posts
      77
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is it possible to increase upload speed

      Reading the discussions here, I know a little about the test socket - is it better to use this socket? Can you use a test socket permanently? Thanks
      Last edited by rhonddapaul; 25-10-09 at 09:18 PM.

    4. #13
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Is it possible to increase upload speed

      Yes you can use the test socket but remember that any and all other sockets in the house will not work.

      You can obviously fit the filter to it and connect a phone that way.

      The best option would be to fit a filtered faceplate and that way you still get the same connection as using the test socket but you also get the other extensions connected for phones as well. (assuming you have more extensions, if you don't then it wont make any difference).

    5. #14
      rhonddapaul's Avatar
      rhonddapaul is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01443
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      South Wales Valleys, UK
      Posts
      77
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is it possible to increase upload speed

      Thanks for that. From what I've seen, a filtered faceplate would just replace the lower half of my current BT socket - no need for wiring etc.?

      On another note, my broadband was slower from the test socket. Are filtered faceplates known to improve speed?

      Would you have a link to a quality filtered socket in the UK? Many thanks, Paul.

    6. #15
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Is it possible to increase upload speed

      On another note, my broadband was slower from the test socket.
      This just not possible, your plug has been making a poor connection.

      As Smithy says if you don't have extensions a filterplate will be of no benefit. If you do have extensions the only wires you have to move are the ones onthe back of the faceplate, on to the same terminals on the filtered plate.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #16
      rhonddapaul's Avatar
      rhonddapaul is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01443
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      South Wales Valleys, UK
      Posts
      77
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is it possible to increase upload speed

      Honest, get 8.2meg speed from main socket and just under 7meg from the test... even after cleaning all contacts? Bit of a novice...

    8. #17
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Is it possible to increase upload speed

      The problem is that you are using exactly the same socket as you do when using the faceplate, so it cannot be lower.

      The only time this would happen is that if your noise margin was low when you unplugged it from the faceplate, it would resync with the default margin(7) and possibly a lower speed when you plug into the test socket.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #18
      rhonddapaul's Avatar
      rhonddapaul is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01443
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      South Wales Valleys, UK
      Posts
      77
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is it possible to increase upload speed


     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION