Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 21

    Argh Slow Speeds - used to be fine

    This is a discussion on Argh Slow Speeds - used to be fine within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; i called sky, i got some indian guy, i dont know if this was an indian call centre or a ...

    1. #11
      mysticbertie's Avatar
      mysticbertie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenston
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Argh Slow Speeds - used to be fine

      i called sky, i got some indian guy, i dont know if this was an indian call centre or a uk call centre, anyhow i asked what you suggested 'would like your connection reconfigured to give its best speed'

      instead he asked me what was wrong and asked me lots of basic questions to trouble shoot the problem, as a result he is sending me out a new microfilter.

      i tried another microfilter in the test socket and the noise margin is lower

      what can i do now as they dont want to do what i asked and to be honest i trust the advice you are giving me but how do i get them to do what i want ?

      new stats
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3067 kbps 797 kbps
      Line Attenuation 57 db 34 db
      Noise Margin 11 db 12 db


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Argh Slow Speeds - used to be fine

      Try this. Call Sky tell them you are a gamer and would like your delay reduced. They should pt you straight through to CST. When you get there ask the agent to reconfigure your line for its best speed. Are you still in the Test socket, you seem to have lost the noise margin that you gained.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #13
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Argh Slow Speeds - used to be fine

      Ring up again and ask them to reduce you max delays because you are a gamer and want to reduce your ping.

      They will put you through to CST, when they do ask them to manually configure your line

    5. #14
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Argh Slow Speeds - used to be fine

      LMAO, Isitme is really on the ball today!!!!!

    6. #15
      mysticbertie's Avatar
      mysticbertie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenston
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Argh Slow Speeds - used to be fine

      thanks guys for the identical replies

      i found 2 brand new sky filters, the new ones reduce the noise margin when plugged into the test socket but the filter i have been using for a while gives me 14db so i assume i should keep that one in

      im away to phone sky again and do as you guys suggest, fingers crossed it works this time lol

    7. #16
      mysticbertie's Avatar
      mysticbertie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenston
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Argh Slow Speeds - used to be fine

      well that was over 30 mins of fun

      the numpty that i get thru to has little tech knowlege so to mention 'gamer' 'delay reduced' 'reduce my ping' its all double dutch to him.

      the previous numpty never noted anything on the system so back to scratch, i tried to just get put thru to the tech agents but not a chance without him first troubleshooting a problem before he can refer me.

      he told me i cant be capped blah blah and asked more questions till i finally got transferred to someone with a bit more knowledge

      after explaining what you guys told me and my speed problems he agreed it needs reconfigured but he cant access the software to do this, he could leave me waiting for someone or just process it to be done sometime today, he has no idea how long i would be left waiting so i told him just to process it today sometime.

      so now im waiting on the speed going up, im still in the test socket and using the filter that gave me the highest noise margin.

      so thanks for all the help and lets hop this will be fixed today

    8. #17
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Argh Slow Speeds - used to be fine

      Did the fella/moron who sent you the filters mention it does in fact cost you? I usually tell customers to get themselves down to tescos or the like.

      If you were given any kind of reference number or told that it was handed over to CST, then ring in later and get it sorted.

    9. #18
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Argh Slow Speeds - used to be fine

      Just keep ringing until you get through to CST, keep using the gamer line until you get transferred.

    10. #19
      mysticbertie's Avatar
      mysticbertie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenston
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Argh Slow Speeds - used to be fine

      nothing improved with my line so i called up today, got thru to CST, the woman was doing her best to help but she got her supervisor involved as they can get into some other 'screens' anyhow apparently the 'DLM' was still on my line from when something was changed over, whatever that means

      im told it should be fixed within 72 hours

    11. #20
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Argh Slow Speeds - used to be fine

      mysticbertie
      Hi here`s a little light reading I found useful Common ADSL jargon and abbreviations explains LLU and other terminology

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION