Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 15

    Throttling back easynews.com?

    This is a discussion on Throttling back easynews.com? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I've had a newsgroup account with easynews for several years now This last 2 weeks my download performance has suddenly ...

    1. #1
      dwicker's Avatar
      dwicker is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: guildford
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      43
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Throttling back easynews.com?

      I've had a newsgroup account with easynews for several years now
      This last 2 weeks my download performance has suddenly become very poor
      I'm on the sky mid package and although the router shows a set speed of 2.6mbs, using the speed test here I get 1.5mb

      However, with easynews the performance has been very slow, 25mins to download a 20mb file!
      I did a trace and posted it on the easynews support group
      The conclusion was that sky was 'throttling back' the speed
      Has anyone else experienced this??
      How best to appeal to sky?

      TIA
      David
      Regards

      David M Wicker


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      dwicker's Avatar
      dwicker is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: guildford
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      43
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Throttling back easynews.com?

      Result of easynews test
      Testing the bandwidth from EASYNEWS.COM to you (90.195.253.204)...
      Started on Saturday October 24th, 2009 at 00:16:19 GMT (1256368579)

      532499 bytes were transferred to your computer in 61.80 seconds. Your max throughput is 8.62 KB/sec.
      Regards

      David M Wicker

    4. #3
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Throttling back easynews.com?

      How are you connecting to the router?

      I do not see any problems here via Giganews.

    5. #4
      dwicker's Avatar
      dwicker is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: guildford
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      43
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Throttling back easynews.com?

      direct connection
      Regards

      David M Wicker

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Throttling back easynews.com?

      Post your router stats, let us have a look at your figures. If you had a low speed previously, your line may have been put on ADSL2+, which could make it even slower. Sky do not throttle LLU connections, only those on Connect.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      dwicker's Avatar
      dwicker is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: guildford
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      43
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Throttling back easynews.com?

      This is what a respected easynews user posted on my support thread

      The problem starts here:
      >
      >easynet.com.any2ix.crgwest.com 0% 10 10 10.60 17.02
      >44.71
      >te0-0-0-5.gr10.bllon.uk.easynet.net 0% 10 10 143.98
      >144.15 144.39
      >te0-5-0-2.er10.txlon.ov.easynet.net 0% 10 10 144.43
      >146.23 157.69
      >te0-0-0.sr0.enwkg.ov.easynet.net 0% 10 10 144.56
      >144.74 145.00
      >cr1.thgi.uk.easynet.net 0% 10 10 146.42 148.56 160.86
      >5ac3fdcc.bb.sky.com 10% 9 10 169.38 176.94 202.81
      >
      >The hand off of your traffic from Crgwest to Easynet increases your
      >latency by a huge margin, 10.6ms to 143.98ms. Then it steadily
      >increases as it moves through the Easynet network. Plus you have the
      >10% packet loss on the last hop.

      for router stats, do you want me to do a router test then copy and paste? or is there another way?
      Regards

      David M Wicker

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Throttling back easynews.com?

      For Router stats see the Quick Links box on the left.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      dwicker's Avatar
      dwicker is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: guildford
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      43
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Throttling back easynews.com?

      Router Statistics

      System Up Time: 91:57:51
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 23532 23252 0 0 0 10:57:11
      LAN 725774 592900 0 0 0 91:57:51
      WLAN 0 0 0 0 0 91:57:25
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2688 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 48.0 db 28.0 db
      Noise Margin 11.0 db 27.0 db
      Regards

      David M Wicker

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Throttling back easynews.com?

      It looks like you have not yet been moved to ADSL2+, so that is not the problem. However your line is quite heavily capped. This is not done for no reason so you must have some noise issues on your line. With your attenuation you should be syncing at 5-7Mb. Can you plug into your Test socket, link below, and take your stats from there? Post them here for comparison.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      dwicker's Avatar
      dwicker is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: guildford
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      43
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Throttling back easynews.com?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      It looks like you have not yet been moved to ADSL2+, so that is not the problem. However your line is quite heavily capped. This is not done for no reason so you must have some noise issues on your line. With your attenuation you should be syncing at 5-7Mb. Can you plug into your Test socket, link below, and take your stats from there? Post them here for comparison.
      the issue is not the speed of my connection but the throttling back by sky/easynet of my connection to my subscription newsgroup service provider, easynews.com
      try this trace on your connection
      http://www.easynews.com/trace/

      I do understand what you mean re the master socket. Nut with my pc setup in my bedroom/office and moving it all downstairs to the hall way to perform the test, then disconnect, carry all the gear back upstairs and reconfigure, would take me an hour + the aggro. I'll post back when I've got that time to spare.

      Do let me know how you get on with the trace
      Regards

      David M Wicker

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION