Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 44

    New to Sky need some help

    This is a discussion on New to Sky need some help within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi folks, Recently switched to Sky's complete package from BT total broadband, for the reason I wanted sky tv and ...

    1. #1
      MrPolaris's Avatar
      MrPolaris is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kingswells Aberdeen
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      New to Sky need some help

      Hi folks,

      Recently switched to Sky's complete package from BT total broadband, for the reason I wanted sky tv and the broadband was alot better than BT were giving me...

      I used to sync at 7.5mb on my BT connection and was capped at night from about 5pm to midnight at a rate of 45-50kb/s sometimes even as low as 35kb/s

      Sky estimated that they could provide me 8-10 mb on the Max/Unlimited connection, so rightly enough I decided I'd give it a go...

      I was told that I would be started off at 4mb during the testing period, and it would gradually be raised over the ten day testing period... on the second day this was raised to 7008 mb downstream and 796 upstream...

      3 weeks on these figures are still the same as the second day which I found odd because I imagined that this would change again (monitored it over the testing period) also with being able to sync at 7.5 with BT made me wonder if I was missing something..? I tried to speak to Sky customer support and all I got from the person on the other end was "all I can do is apologise Sir, all I can do is appologise" so he wasn't any help what so ever...

      The router I am using is a Sagem one with firmware version 1.9Sky ...

      Router Statistics

      System Up Time: 112:23:30
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 7008 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 36.5 db 17.3 db
      Noise Margin 9.1 db 13.5 db

      Any help/advice would be greatly appreciated

      Cheers


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: New to Sky need some help

      If DLM has run and it is not clear if it has, it may have found something wrong with the connection. Can you post your stats from the test socket, link below.

      Your attenuation should support 10-12Mb, but noise on your line is holding it down.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      MrPolaris's Avatar
      MrPolaris is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kingswells Aberdeen
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New to Sky need some help

      Thanks for your quick reply... I am currently at work will be home again at about 5pm and will plug it in and post the stats from there...

      I don't really know much about noise on the line and all that so not sure exactly what I am looking for?

      If memory serves me right, the master socket is in my hallway and my router is connected by a phone line extension into my computer room... It has been there for years so I am not sure if that may be the problem?

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: New to Sky need some help

      my router is connected by a phone line extension into my computer room... It has been there for years so I am not sure if that may be the problem?
      It may well be, using the test socket cuts out interference caused by internal wiring. You are looking for a rise in the bold figure.
      Noise Margin 9.1 db 13.5 db

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      MrPolaris's Avatar
      MrPolaris is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kingswells Aberdeen
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New to Sky need some help

      So technically, the higher the noise margin the better?

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: New to Sky need some help

      Yes, the higher the margin, the more potential for an increase in speed.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      MrPolaris's Avatar
      MrPolaris is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kingswells Aberdeen
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New to Sky need some help

      Thanks, I'll get back to you about it soon probably about five-ish

      Also, my family informed me that the wireless is a bit unstable, keeps dropping out with the sagem router, however we used to use the belkin N1 vision and never had to restart it or anything... would it be worth switching back to it?

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: New to Sky need some help

      You could connect the Belkin to the Sagem and use its superior wireless capabilities, many do this as it avoids breaking the T & Cs.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      MrPolaris's Avatar
      MrPolaris is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kingswells Aberdeen
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New to Sky need some help

      Okay so I put it into the socket... I have two sockets one that ressembles the one from the guide, but I have a feeling this was disconnected years ago as it was a secondary line or something, and the other socket was the one that the extension cable comes from...

      I plugged it into the origional looking one and it displayed nothing at all so gathered that this was disconnected, plugged it directly into the newer looking socket and got the exact same figures only the noise margin was around 8.6 db..

    11. #10
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: New to Sky need some help

      Can you take a couple of pictures of them?

      Also remove the face and take some pictures of the connections behind.

     

     
    Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION