Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast
    Results 31 to 40 of 44

    New to Sky need some help

    This is a discussion on New to Sky need some help within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; It has a capacitor in it with quite a few wires connected to some kind of ports, also one wire ...

    1. #31
      MrPolaris's Avatar
      MrPolaris is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kingswells Aberdeen
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New to Sky need some help

      It has a capacitor in it with quite a few wires connected to some kind of ports, also one wire that comes into it has black insulation round it while the rest have white, which makes me think that this is the cable running from outside into the house... I have taken a couple of pictures but conviniently the battery died on my camera as I was away to upload them... I'll give it a quick 10 minute charge and post them as soon as possible


    2. Advertisement
    3. #32
      MrPolaris's Avatar
      MrPolaris is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kingswells Aberdeen
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New to Sky need some help


    4. #33
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: New to Sky need some help

      That is your Master socket. The 4 core cable is the main coming in. Orange and white will be connected to the 2 and 5 terminals on the faceplate and the green and black in the 'jellybean' connectors are the other line coming in and going to the NTE5.

      Converting this to the NTE5 would be best but in the meantime, pull the wires off the number 3 terminal on the backplate. These are the ring wires, not required and can cause interference. Do this and take your stats again, this in itself can make a big difference. Make sure all the other sockets have a filter plugged first into the socket.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #34
      MrPolaris's Avatar
      MrPolaris is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kingswells Aberdeen
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New to Sky need some help

      Well the noise has definately increased some what, to which a previous post stated should be around 15 db currently 14.1

      System Up Time: 0:05:33
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 230 257 0 117 77 0:03:30
      LAN 1397 1228 0 105 179 0:05:33
      WLAN 0 0 0 0 0 0:05:05
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 7008 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 36.0 db 17.3 db
      Noise Margin 14.1 db 13.5 db

      edit - one factor i left out in my origional post, I live just under 1 KM from my exchange

    6. #35
      MrPolaris's Avatar
      MrPolaris is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kingswells Aberdeen
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New to Sky need some help

      Heh strange, just did a phone number check on the sky website and it now says 5mb is the estimate, strange how its halfed since ordering sky

    7. #36
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: New to Sky need some help

      I don't think you are going to do better without fitting an NTE5 with filterplate to isolate the rest of your wiring. Your present Noise margin should get your up between 9-10 Mb. Give Sky a call and tell them you have improved your wiring and would like your connection reconfigured to give its best speed.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #37
      MrPolaris's Avatar
      MrPolaris is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kingswells Aberdeen
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New to Sky need some help

      okidoki thanks for your help buddy really appreciated... will let you know how I get on...

    9. #38
      MrPolaris's Avatar
      MrPolaris is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kingswells Aberdeen
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New to Sky need some help

      OMG this is useless stuck on tier 1 and shes saying that the maximum i can recieve is 5mb when clearly im getting 7... had 7.5 on bt (adsl) and shes saying i'm having a moan for no reason as 7 is definately not a slow connection..

      informed her about my "line improvement" in my house and she couldnt understand me, asked to speak to someone else she said oh let me double check your line i will do another test... "no definately 5megs is the most you can support"

      Waste of time?

    10. #39
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: New to Sky need some help

      Call back and tell Tier 1 you want your Delay reduced as you are a gamer and want a lower ping. They should pass you to CST. When you get there, tell the agent you would like your speed reconfigured as you have improved your wiring. They should be able to do it in a couple of minutes.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #40
      MrPolaris's Avatar
      MrPolaris is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kingswells Aberdeen
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New to Sky need some help

      thanks will get back to you

      edit - in the line waiting on CST
      Last edited by MrPolaris; 24-10-09 at 05:30 PM.

     

     
    Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION