Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 18

    Upload Noise Margin = 2147483647 db

    This is a discussion on Upload Noise Margin = 2147483647 db within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi folks, Im new to the forum, but have used the site before for useful information (so thanks for that). ...

    1. #1
      Keith2065's Avatar
      Keith2065 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Upload Noise Margin = 2147483647 db

      Hi folks,

      Im new to the forum, but have used the site before for useful information (so thanks for that).

      Recently (last few days), my connection has ground to a halt, and I assumed the problem was the telephone line running into my router (dog has been chewing on it!).

      Today I replaced the line, (clipped to the ceiling to avoid dog damage), but my connection is still really slow. Im no expert by any stretch of the imagination, but im sure noise margin on upstream is not meant to be 2147483647 db??

      I have spoken to sky about this before, but the person I was talking to had no idea what the problem was.

      Can anyone suggest what I can do about this? Or even advise on where the problem stems from? Could it be the router, or do I have something wrong with my exterior wiring maybe?

      Any help appreciated, cheers.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,370
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Upload Noise Margin = 2147483647 db

      This is normally caused by a faulty microfilter, try a different one with everything disconnected so you can check each filter, or however you want to do it.

    4. #3
      Keith2065's Avatar
      Keith2065 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Upload Noise Margin = 2147483647 db

      Thanks Andy, ill give that a go! (if i can fine another one)

    5. #4
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,370
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Upload Noise Margin = 2147483647 db

      If its not the filter it could be a faulty router causing the problem, but the filter is more likely.

    6. #5
      Keith2065's Avatar
      Keith2065 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Upload Noise Margin = 2147483647 db

      Ok, swapped the filter then reset the router...

      I thought it was sorted, because the upload noise margin was something like 32 db, but then within about 1 or 2 mins of the router being turned back on, it was back at 2147483647 db (exact same number),

      Does that point to the router then?

    7. #6
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,370
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Upload Noise Margin = 2147483647 db

      Quote Originally Posted by Keith2065 View Post
      Ok, swapped the filter then reset the router...

      I thought it was sorted, because the upload noise margin was something like 32 db, but then within about 1 or 2 mins of the router being turned back on, it was back at 2147483647 db (exact same number),

      Does that point to the router then?
      The next step would be to phone sky on this matter explain the problem and they will send out a new router before they would go and further. After that it would be an exchange problem.

      Sky number is 08442 410 515

    8. #7
      Keith2065's Avatar
      Keith2065 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Upload Noise Margin = 2147483647 db

      Thanks again Andy,

      Where do I stand on being "tied in" with sky, if they send me a new router? Any ideas?

    9. #8
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Upload Noise Margin = 2147483647 db

      You're not, you will just continue on the contract that you are currently on.

    10. #9
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Upload Noise Margin = 2147483647 db

      I am pretty sure this is a bug / fault within the router and it's reporting.

      I cant hear you!!!!




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    11. #10
      Keith2065's Avatar
      Keith2065 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Upload Noise Margin = 2147483647 db

      Quote Originally Posted by Smithy99 View Post
      You're not, you will just continue on the contract that you are currently on.
      Thanks for that.


      I called Sky tech support, and they asked me to connect my router to "test" socket? had to take off the front plate of my main socket.

      Anyway, that cuts out the extension line which I mentioned in first post.

      This is not a solution, because I am now connected via wireless, and that's not an option for my other computer when needs to be wired.

      It has however, for the time being improved my speeds...


      However my router is still showing 2147483647 db for upstream noise margin. Should i pursue this with tech support... when I mentioned upstream noise margin to the lovely lady at tech support, all i got was a pause and a very prompt change of subject.

      Im still not convinced the issue has been resolved at all. Any ideas?

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION