Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 18 of 18

    Upload Noise Margin = 2147483647 db

    This is a discussion on Upload Noise Margin = 2147483647 db within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Keith2065 Hi Keith that the best explanation Originally Posted by Saturday That's the router being unable to report the correct ...

    1. #11
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Upload Noise Margin = 2147483647 db

      Keith2065
      Hi Keith that the best explanation

      Quote Originally Posted by Saturday View Post
      That's the router being unable to report the correct upstream noise margin as it has dropped to zero then below. You can't have a negative noise margin figure so the router throws a wobbly.

      Why has it dropped? Because the background noise on your line has increased greatly since the router synced with the exchange. Rebooting the router should clear the odd reading.

      However, then there's the issue of why has the upstream margin changed so badly (and not the downstream which is more usual)? Hard to say but upstream noise margin/sync issues are generally linked to a filtering problem as upstream uses the lowest part of the available bandwidth just above that used for voice.

      So, you have a line problem. Could be the odd wiring set up you describe, could be a missing or dodgy filter. Could be other things too so you'll have to eliminate potential causes one by one until you find what it is.

      DLM will be running as you've only been connected 10 days but that won't be the cause of the issue you're having. It will be trying to adjust your connection to your line condition though so if you want to end up with a good speed you need to sort the problem out.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Keith2065's Avatar
      Keith2065 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Upload Noise Margin = 2147483647 db

      Just an update...

      Called sky back, because after a while the connections slowed way down again, even when plugged into the test socket.

      I spoke with a bloke who thankfully had a good idea about what he was talking about. He fiddled with whatever he fiddled with at his end, and seems to have made a vast improvement. Sorted the crazy noise margin figure.

      For a brief moment when I plugged the Ethernet cables back into the router the downstream noise margin spikes into the trillions and i was getting ip conficts all over the place... restarted the router and it seems to have sorted that issue out.

      The bloke told me he was trying to keep the downstream noise margin above 7, and it was above 7 at his end... but my stats are showing 5 sometimes, but he couldnt see it going below 7, weird?

      Its shows as 4 now as I type. Infact im getting steady 4/5.


      Still not speeds to get excited about eh?

      I wish i lived in a cabled area again (


      Thanks for all the help/advice folks!

    4. #13
      Keith2065's Avatar
      Keith2065 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Upload Noise Margin = 2147483647 db

      Just tried speed test on my gaming machine (which is wired) and...



      Much better

      So... did the router give priority to my gaming machine, slowing my wireless connection on the laptop??

    5. #14
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Upload Noise Margin = 2147483647 db

      Keith2065
      Hi Skyuser have their own speed tester which is more accurate than the speedtest.net it would be a good idea to try it
      Sky User - Broadband Speed Tester

    6. #15
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Upload Noise Margin = 2147483647 db

      Wireless is a poor way to transfer data and speeds can be very irratic when using it. You could try changing the channel on the router but even then you won't beat a wire.

    7. #16
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,370
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Upload Noise Margin = 2147483647 db

      I would still push for a replacement router from them.

    8. #17
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Upload Noise Margin = 2147483647 db

      I would still push for a replacement router from them.
      Why? He is getting a good speed and the upstream problem has been fixed.

      His problem now is the usual one of poor wireless speed. Changing the channel may even cure it, but as always, for anything apart from email/surfing, use an ethernet connection.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #18
      chrisc's Avatar
      chrisc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01204
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      198
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Upload Noise Margin = 2147483647 db

      so the outcome of this was it was sorted by sky i have rang sky twice but they really did not understand me did not spk to tier 2 or 3 ?

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION