Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Think about Moving From Tier 2 To Tier 3

    This is a discussion on Think about Moving From Tier 2 To Tier 3 within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hello Forum, New to the forum and new to Sky HD. Just joined sky tv and sky is also supplying ...

    1. #1
      topgeardog's Avatar
      topgeardog is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cleveleys
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Location
      In a bungalow
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Smile Think about Moving From Tier 2 To Tier 3

      Hello Forum, New to the forum and new to Sky HD.
      Just joined sky tv and sky is also supplying my phone and broadband now, I signed up for the mid range broadband and its very stable i get around 3 meg download speed, and it great for WOW and PS3.. pings seems fine.
      I am thinking about moving up a level to the best sky offer with upto 20meg download speed and unlimited BB..
      If i did move up would sky give me a better speed or would i just get the unlimited broadband?
      And is there a way to see how fast they can give me before I make the upgrade?

      I was with TalkTalk before and had great internet for 4 years with download speeds of around 10meg and i do miss the speed.

      Thank You
      TopGearDog


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Think about Moving From Tier 2 To Tier 3

      if you get 3Mbps now, chances are you'd only be paying for higher upload...post your currents stats and we can comment better...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      topgeardog's Avatar
      topgeardog is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cleveleys
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Location
      In a bungalow
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Think about Moving From Tier 2 To Tier 3

      From My router page when i click on router stats.. Is this what you mean?
      Router Statistics

      System Up Time: 36:34:27
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 647321 772695 0 457 3880 36:33:21
      LAN 100M/Full 398179 337428 0 1718 246 36:34:22
      WLAN 11M/54M 413647 345052 0 2328 336 36:34:10
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3067 kbps 253 kbps
      Line Attenuation 37 db 18 db
      Noise Margin 15 db 23 db

    5. #4
      topgeardog's Avatar
      topgeardog is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cleveleys
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Location
      In a bungalow
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Think about Moving From Tier 2 To Tier 3

      Also This.
      Router Status
      Firmware Version V2.02.44
      ADSL Port
      MAC Address 00:24:b2:34:fc:33
      IP Address
      Network Type PPPoA
      IP Subnet Mask 255.255.255.255
      Gateway IP Address
      Domain Name Server 90.207.238.97
      90.207.238.99
      LAN Port
      MAC Address 00:24:b2:34:fc:32
      IP Address 192.168.0.1
      DHCP On
      IP Subnet Mask 255.255.255.0
      Modem
      ADSL Firmware Version 7.03.01.66
      Modem Status Connected
      DownStream Connection Speed 3067 kbps
      UpStream Connection Speed 253 kbps
      VPI 0
      VCI 38
      Wireless Port
      Name (SSID) SKY36173
      Region Europe
      Channel 11
      Wireless AP enable
      Broadcast Name enable
      Last edited by topgeardog; 16-10-09 at 12:55 AM.

    6. #5
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Think about Moving From Tier 2 To Tier 3

      need the SNR/attenuations...click show statistics and paste them

      also, remove your IP...

      EDIT: sorry didnt look up!!

      the speeds you're on now at the start speed for Mid/Everyday...you'll be on initial DLM, you should end up with 6-8Mbps by the end but you won't get much more than that...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    7. #6
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Think about Moving From Tier 2 To Tier 3

      Quote Originally Posted by topgeardog View Post
      From My router page when i click on router stats.. Is this what you mean?
      Router Statistics

      System Up Time: 36:34:27
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 647321 772695 0 457 3880 36:33:21
      LAN 100M/Full 398179 337428 0 1718 246 36:34:22
      WLAN 11M/54M 413647 345052 0 2328 336 36:34:10
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3067 kbps 253 kbps
      Line Attenuation 37 db 18 db
      Noise Margin 15 db 23 db
      If you have a test socket connect your router to it and repost your stats. How to test your ADSL in the Master Socket

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION