Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    BT disconnect problem?

    This is a discussion on BT disconnect problem? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hope this is the right place for this post. Not been here in a while and have been a little ...

    1. #1
      Lazarus's Avatar
      Lazarus is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: STHYTHE
      Broadband ISP: Mid from 5 Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      New Forest, Hants
      Posts
      331
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      BT disconnect problem?

      Hope this is the right place for this post. Not been here in a while and have been a little out of touch. Mods, feel free to move it if need be.

      My brother had his BT phone disconnected because he was fed paying for something he rarely used. It seems the Sky BB kept working after that. Not sure for how long because his pc started playing up so he couldn't use it anyway. His pc is now fixed and he's had the phone reconnected, but Sky BB refuses to work.

      Is it possible or likely that BT put a tag on the line to say it was unused and that has stopped Sky working? Is it also possible that the tag hasn't been removed? I've reset the router, double checked all the connections, filters, etc but nothing works.

      I've advised hime to contact Sky and check, but he's working away at the moment so probably wouldn't even get past Tier 1 wthout being near the computer. Anyone been in this situation or can offer any advice, I would be very grateful.


      Mark
      Asus P6T Deluxe - i7 920 @3.6GHz - 750GB Samsung F1 - 6GB OCZ Platinum 1600MHz - XFX GTX260 'Black Edition' - Tagan 1100W PSU - TT 'Big Water' 760i - Antec 1200 - Windows 7 64-bit - Ubuntu 9.04 64-bit

      ADSL Link..............Down .............Up
      Connection Speed..9215 kbps......606 kbps
      Line Attenuation... 20.0 db..........11.9 db
      Noise Margin........ 20.9 db..........22.0db


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: BT disconnect problem?

      Sky BB requires a BT line to work. Chances are that the line was ceased when the BT line was decommisioned, Sky BB may have carried on working until the line was re-used by someone else.

      Now you have a new line, you will have to see if you can get Sky to put the service back on it although I think this may take some time and it will need a cease on the onld one and a re-provide for the new line.

      Did he cancel SkyBB when he cancelled the phoneline with BT?

    4. #3
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: BT disconnect problem?

      From the sound of it BT left the line jumpered into the DSLAM, and for a while it continued to work but what might've happened is that the data ties have now been allocated to someone else and that's why you can't get online - other reason could be (if Internet light on router is amber) is either the router is suspended OR you're gaining sync on another ISPs DSLAM and failing authentication...

      either way, you need a working phone line for BB...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    5. #4
      Lazarus's Avatar
      Lazarus is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: STHYTHE
      Broadband ISP: Mid from 5 Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      New Forest, Hants
      Posts
      331
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: BT disconnect problem?

      Thanks for the replies guys. I think the line was only disconnected for a week or two before he got it reconnected. Back on to the same old number and everything. Although I do realise that this doesn't mean that it's the same line.

      Quote Originally Posted by Smithy99 View Post

      Did he cancel SkyBB when he cancelled the phoneline with BT?
      No, I don't think he even thought about cancelling the Sky BB

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      ... other reason could be (if Internet light on router is amber) is either the router is suspended OR you're gaining sync on another ISPs DSLAM and failing authentication...

      either way, you need a working phone line for BB...
      All lights are green but there is nothing sent or received through the WAN (Router stats show 0 sent/received).

      Anyways, thanks for your help and suggestions. I've told hime he'll have to contact Sky and try to getb them to sort it out. I'm pretty sure there's nothing I can do my end.

      Mark
      Asus P6T Deluxe - i7 920 @3.6GHz - 750GB Samsung F1 - 6GB OCZ Platinum 1600MHz - XFX GTX260 'Black Edition' - Tagan 1100W PSU - TT 'Big Water' 760i - Antec 1200 - Windows 7 64-bit - Ubuntu 9.04 64-bit

      ADSL Link..............Down .............Up
      Connection Speed..9215 kbps......606 kbps
      Line Attenuation... 20.0 db..........11.9 db
      Noise Margin........ 20.9 db..........22.0db

    6. #5
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: BT disconnect problem?

      You could get him to add you to his account and give you the password then you can deal with it on his behalf.

    7. #6
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: BT disconnect problem?

      it's the same physical line so chances are the same ties are currently in use - hence why he's got the lights on the router...is it a Phase 1 (White) Netgear or Phase 2 (Black) router? Some of the Phase 1's had a green light without having an IP address (check the router status and see if it's got one - if so it's just the PC not connecting correctly to the router)...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: BT disconnect problem?

      Check the router status page, see if it is getting an IP address.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      Lazarus's Avatar
      Lazarus is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: STHYTHE
      Broadband ISP: Mid from 5 Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      New Forest, Hants
      Posts
      331
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: BT disconnect problem?

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      ...is it a Phase 1 (White) Netgear or Phase 2 (Black) router? Some of the Phase 1's had a green light without having an IP address (check the router status and see if it's got one - if so it's just the PC not connecting correctly to the router)...
      It's a Phase 1 white router.

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Check the router status page, see if it is getting an IP address.
      When I checked the status page before, I think it had an IP address, but wouldn't authenticate. I remember seeing the 'MAC Address' and a 255.255.xxx.xxx address.

      On the router status page page there were packets sent and received across the LAN, so I assume that means the pc is connecting with the router ok.

      I'll run up there tomorrow and check again. Thanks again for the replies. I appreciate all your help.

      Mark
      Asus P6T Deluxe - i7 920 @3.6GHz - 750GB Samsung F1 - 6GB OCZ Platinum 1600MHz - XFX GTX260 'Black Edition' - Tagan 1100W PSU - TT 'Big Water' 760i - Antec 1200 - Windows 7 64-bit - Ubuntu 9.04 64-bit

      ADSL Link..............Down .............Up
      Connection Speed..9215 kbps......606 kbps
      Line Attenuation... 20.0 db..........11.9 db
      Noise Margin........ 20.9 db..........22.0db

    10. #9
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: BT disconnect problem?

      if it had an IP then it's authenticated...Sky IP address start 90.x.x.x or 94.x.x.x...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    11. #10
      Lazarus's Avatar
      Lazarus is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: STHYTHE
      Broadband ISP: Mid from 5 Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      New Forest, Hants
      Posts
      331
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: BT disconnect problem?

      Just to update this, now resolved, issue.

      My brother contacted sky and found out that the BB had been disconnected sometime after the BT line had been ceased. He now has to pay a 30 reconnection charge to get his BB back. At the time he got rid of his phone line it didn't even occur to him that he would lose his broadband connection. Lesson learned.

      Thanks to everyone for all your help and advice. Kudos to SatDish and NewsreadeR. It's still a great site.

      Mark
      Asus P6T Deluxe - i7 920 @3.6GHz - 750GB Samsung F1 - 6GB OCZ Platinum 1600MHz - XFX GTX260 'Black Edition' - Tagan 1100W PSU - TT 'Big Water' 760i - Antec 1200 - Windows 7 64-bit - Ubuntu 9.04 64-bit

      ADSL Link..............Down .............Up
      Connection Speed..9215 kbps......606 kbps
      Line Attenuation... 20.0 db..........11.9 db
      Noise Margin........ 20.9 db..........22.0db

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION