Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 13

    Internet speed

    This is a discussion on Internet speed within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hello, i had my sky broadband unlimited put in about a month ago now but im sure by reading other ...

    1. #1
      Stylist's Avatar
      Stylist is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: scotstoun
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Internet speed

      Hello, i had my sky broadband unlimited put in about a month ago now but im sure by reading other threads my speed could be better.

      Here are my router stats


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3069 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 39 db 23 db
      Noise Margin 22 db 10 db

      I dont have a bt master socket but my router isnt plugged into any extensions and im using the cables that sky provided. ive heard people mention dlm but im not quite sure.

      Any help would be much appreciated thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Internet speed

      It does look like you're connection has been heavily capped, possibly a problem arose during the initial DLM (Line Management) process. You do have a master socket, it's maybe just not one of the newer NTE5 (split face) types.

      You need to contact Sky and tell them there's a problem with your speed as it seems to be set too low by DLM and could they get CST (Customer Solutions) to take a look. You should be getting in excess of 8mbps.

      One thing you can do before ringing Sky is remove the front from your master socket (it should look like this inside - http://www.telephonesuk.co.uk/images/LJU2_1A_rear.jpg) and remove the ring wire from terminal no. 3. Check again your stats and see if the noise margin increases any. Also, make sure that the supplied micro filter is the very first thing to be plugged in.

    4. #3
      Stylist's Avatar
      Stylist is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: scotstoun
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Internet speed

      Thanks very much mate, i jus checked the phone socket and there is no wire in number 3, there are ones in 2 and 5

    5. #4
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Internet speed

      In that case all you can do now is give Sky a call. You've got a decent enough noise margin figure to translate into a big speed increase.

    6. #5
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,370
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Internet speed

      You should get 8Mb, if not maybe 9Mb depending what the line is like once increased you will know.

    7. #6
      Stylist's Avatar
      Stylist is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: scotstoun
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Internet speed

      Ok i didnt have the time to phone earlier so im just off the phone just now, they say it could take 24-48 hrs before the higher tier will call me back, just wonderin if anybody else waited this length of time.

    8. #7
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Internet speed

      That timescale is pretty normal.

    9. #8
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Internet speed

      If you really must, give it 48hrs then ring again otherwise the call will be closed and you will have to start again.

      Personally, I would ring again in the morning.

    10. #9
      Stylist's Avatar
      Stylist is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: scotstoun
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Internet speed

      No problem, thanks chaps

    11. #10
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Internet speed

      Well you've got a ticket raised now so you can call back any time and get put through to CST without a problem. It may be worth waiting until during the day when your connection will be potentially clearer so you can get the best out of any increase they give you. I would not wait for them to get back to you.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION