Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 36

    Half speed - has DLM knobbled me?

    This is a discussion on Half speed - has DLM knobbled me? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi all, I'm on Sky Mid BB but live some way from the exchange so have only ever achieved 2.5 ...

    1. #1
      le.bouch's Avatar
      le.bouch is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kemptown, BRIGHTON
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Half speed - has DLM knobbled me?

      Hi all,

      I'm on Sky Mid BB but live some way from the exchange so have only ever achieved 2.5 - 3.0 meg D/L and approx .250 meg U/L speeds.

      Out of idle curiosity I checked my speeds last week and found that my U/L is now a much healthier .5 meg BUT my D/L seems to be 'locked' at 1.5 meg. By 'locked' I mean power-cycling the router makes no odds.

      I've been researching DLM and looking at people's advice here. Could one of you gurus pleas look at my stats and suggest whether I've been DLM'd and if there's anything I can do to re-instate my speed?

      These stats are from my ADSL Nation extension socket:



      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1536 kbps 557 kbps
      Line Attenuation 56.5 db 35.8 db
      Noise Margin 9.2 db 9.0 db

      These stats are from the test socket:


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1534 kbps 574 kbps
      Line Attenuation 56 db 35.2 db
      Noise Margin 8.3 db 10.5 db

      Many thanks in advance of any help!
      Last edited by le.bouch; 13-10-09 at 04:32 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      trjp's Avatar
      trjp is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Blyth
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Half speed - has DLM knobbled me?

      Quote Originally Posted by le.bouch View Post
      I've been researching DLM and looking at people's advice here. Could one of you gurus pleas look at my stats and suggest whether I've been DLM'd and if there's anything I can do to re-instate my speed?
      My line was DLMed about a month ago - I didn't change anything so I guess they do it occasionally.

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1536 kbps 557 kbps
      Line Attenuation 56.5 db 35.8 db
      Noise Margin 9.2 db 9.0 db

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1534 kbps 574 kbps
      Line Attenuation 56 db 35.2 db
      Noise Margin 8.3 db 10.5 db
      Those noise figures are what we're interested in - they'll vary through the day (generally better at night as there's less traffic) but they MUST stay above 7 (pref. a bit more for comfort) for your line to be stable.

      You don't have much headroom there - it's possible that Sky are setting a higher noise level with these tests to make people's lines more stable (or save bandwidth if you're more cynically minded). - or things may yet improve.

      If they stay that way for more than 72 hours you could call them but it's seldom a pleasant experience - GL!

    4. #3
      le.bouch's Avatar
      le.bouch is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kemptown, BRIGHTON
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Half speed - has DLM knobbled me?

      Thanks for such a quick reply. At least my noise figures seem ok... Excuse my ignorance, what do you mean by not much headroom?

      My speed has been like this for over a week now. I thought Sky were supposed to be upgrading everything, not halving my (already mediocre) speed?

    5. #4
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Half speed - has DLM knobbled me?

      Ring sky and ask them to put you back on GDMT instead of ADSL2, you line is long and won't respond very well to ADSL2.

    6. #5
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,370
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Half speed - has DLM knobbled me?

      Quote Originally Posted by le.bouch View Post
      Thanks for such a quick reply. At least my noise figures seem ok... Excuse my ignorance, what do you mean by not much headroom?

      My speed has been like this for over a week now. I thought Sky were supposed to be upgrading everything, not halving my (already mediocre) speed?
      It means there is not alot of noise margin spare in relation to your connection speed, and as smithy99 says you need ask sky to put the line back to G.DMT and your speed will increase, how much is hard to say.

    7. #6
      le.bouch's Avatar
      le.bouch is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kemptown, BRIGHTON
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Half speed - has DLM knobbled me?

      OK Thanks - I've emailed Sky this eve and asked them to put me back on GDMT...

    8. #7
      Zipperface's Avatar
      Zipperface is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bexhill On Sea
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Half speed - has DLM knobbled me?

      I'd like to know how you get on, because i may need to contact Sky as well to ask about being put back on the old connection thingy...

    9. #8
      trjp's Avatar
      trjp is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Blyth
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Half speed - has DLM knobbled me?

      On the 'headroom' thing - when you increase speed you decrease the SNR/Noise Margin and you need at least 7db (pref. a bit more as it varies through the day).

      So your 8.3 is pretty close to the limit - hence it's unlikely they'd try to increase speed beyond that.

      It's weird tho - they are SUPPOSED to increase speed until it becomes hard to sync/unstable but they seem to just he 'fishing' at random speeds.

      My new Unlimited link started at 4Mbps (was 10Mbps before I upgraded) and stayed there 36 hours - then went to 11Mb and then 12 hours later to 15Mb. I've got 14db SNR so there's room to get better but it's stayed there over 24 hours now - I'm not complaining about 15Mb of course but it's clear the line will take more (atentuation is <12 and the exchange is about 100m at the crow flies).

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Half speed - has DLM knobbled me?

      It's weird tho - they are SUPPOSED to increase speed until it becomes hard to sync/unstable
      Who told you that? The whole point of line training is to achieve the best possible stable speed, not the highest attainable.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      trjp's Avatar
      trjp is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Blyth
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Half speed - has DLM knobbled me?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Who told you that? The whole point of line training is to achieve the best possible stable speed, not the highest attainable.
      If you don't try unstable speeds you cannot possibly know the highest stable one - was my point.

      It seems a few people have run into Sky using DLM to lower their line speeds of late - I can only assume they're setting higher criteria for noise or whatever!?!?

     

     
    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION