Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 36

    Half speed - has DLM knobbled me?

    This is a discussion on Half speed - has DLM knobbled me? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Thanks for all your replies - very informative. What's bugging me is that my 2.5 to 3 meg speed wasn't ...

    1. #11
      le.bouch's Avatar
      le.bouch is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kemptown, BRIGHTON
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Half speed - has DLM knobbled me?

      Thanks for all your replies - very informative.

      What's bugging me is that my 2.5 to 3 meg speed wasn't brilliant to start with (in the scheme of things) but WAS stable. Very occassionally my speed would drop below 1 meg but a router re-start would always fix things.

      In the name of progress Sky has halved my speed but is still charging me 10 per month for the privilage.
      I think it's a bit underhand - they should have emailed me / written to me and said "You were on the mid package but we've halved your speed therefore we're putting you on the Base package"

      How many people has this happened to who don't even know?

      I have Virgin cable in my road.......


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Half speed - has DLM knobbled me?

      Ring Sky as has been suggested and get them to put you back on to G.DMT. When you get past Tier 1, CST will fix you up in no time.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #13
      trjp's Avatar
      trjp is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Blyth
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Half speed - has DLM knobbled me?

      Quote Originally Posted by le.bouch View Post
      I have Virgin cable in my road.......
      Why on EARTH aren't you using it then!?!??

      Seriously, cable is always > phonelines surely?

    5. #14
      le.bouch's Avatar
      le.bouch is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kemptown, BRIGHTON
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Half speed - has DLM knobbled me?

      Don't tempt me.... :-)

      I haven't gone with Virgin 'cos I already pay Sky about 85 per month - full HD TV package, extra box, phone line, BB....

      Have just been looking at Virgin BB and it's 25 per month for 10 meg BB with phone line :-(

    6. #15
      le.bouch's Avatar
      le.bouch is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kemptown, BRIGHTON
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Half speed - has DLM knobbled me?

      Just got an email back from Sky - copied below. I'm at work right now but will report back later...

      "Sorry for the delay in replying to your message.
      I have checked your account and changed the settings from 1.5 kbps to 2915kbps.
      Please can you monitor this for 42 - 48 hrs"

    7. #16
      le.bouch's Avatar
      le.bouch is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kemptown, BRIGHTON
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Half speed - has DLM knobbled me?

      So, I got home and my stats were:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2963 kbps 542 kbps
      Line Attenuation 56.0 db 35.5 db
      Noise Margin 3.6 db 9.5 db

      Given what I (now) know, I could see that the noise figure was worryingly low at 3.6 db.
      I re-booted the router and my stats are now:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2492 kbps 542 kbps
      Line Attenuation 56.0 db 35.5 db
      Noise Margin 8.3 db 9.5 db

      Sky have asked me to monitor it for 48 hours which I will, but if this trend continues should I be asking them to set the sync at approx 2.5 meg? I appreciate that the noise figure is prob worse in the busy evening period but that's when I usually use t'internet..

    8. #17
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Half speed - has DLM knobbled me?

      I could see that the noise figure was worryingly low at 3.6 db.
      Some routers can hold their connection down to this and lower. You might have been better leaving it and let it find its own level. I would normally say boot at this level but when your speed is so low, every 'k' counts. If your noise margin climbs up to 9 or 10, reboot and see if you can get some speed back.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #18
      le.bouch's Avatar
      le.bouch is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kemptown, BRIGHTON
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Half speed - has DLM knobbled me?

      Thanks - I hope I haven't buggered it by re-booting :-(

      I'll do as you suggest and reboot if possible.

    10. #19
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Half speed - has DLM knobbled me?

      I still think you would do better on G.DMT. It looks like you have been left on ADSL2. Give it a few days then ring them again, get through to CST and ask them to try your line on G.DMT.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #20
      le.bouch's Avatar
      le.bouch is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kemptown, BRIGHTON
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Half speed - has DLM knobbled me?

      Really? For the unititiated (mainly me, I think!) how do you tell whether you're on ADSL2 or G.DMT? Is it from the specs or some other way?

     

     
    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION