Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 18

    Sky cant upgrade broadband

    This is a discussion on Sky cant upgrade broadband within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Well i tried to do it online Then called them and they say ermmmm we cant do that...

    1. #1
      pskyp's Avatar
      pskyp is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      55
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky cant upgrade broadband

      Well i tried to do it online

      Then called them and they say ermmmm we cant do that



    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky cant upgrade broadband

      You have not supplied much information, but it could be because you are on Connect and your exchange has not been enabled or there are no spaces available. Check what package you are on by looking at the Broadband Details in your MySky page.

      You could also post your stats. See the link in the Quick Links box on the left.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      pskyp's Avatar
      pskyp is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      55
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky cant upgrade broadband

      currently on

      2mbs have been for 14 months

      When i try to upgrade online i get the following message

      Sorry, Sky Broadband is not currently available for the telephone number entered

      That is the message i was greeted with when i tried to upgrade online to the everyday package

      But hold on i already have sky broadband but they say i cant have it

      We did recently change out phone to sky

      also how quickly do they upgrade the broadband ?

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky cant upgrade broadband

      Put your phone number in the box on this page and see what it says -
      Sky Broadband - High Speed Wireless Broadband and Offers - Join Online

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      pskyp's Avatar
      pskyp is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      55
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky cant upgrade broadband

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Put your phone number in the box on this page and see what it says -
      Sky Broadband - High Speed Wireless Broadband and Offers - Join Online
      This number does not appear to be a compatible phone line - it may be from a cable or other service provider, or you may have just moved house and just activated this phone number. New Sky TV customers can order a new phone line from Sky today, including Sky Talk Line Rental and a Sky Talk calls package by calling 08442 410 288 - Sky will arrange for a new compatible Sky phone line to be installed. After your Sky phone line is installed, call Sky to order Sky Broadband. Check Postcode to see what Broadband products are available in this area. Alternatively, you can progress with TV only and get Sky Broadband and Talk products at a later date.



      But i have my phonline with sky ?

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky cant upgrade broadband

      If you have just moved recently to Sky Rental, this could be the problem. Maybe if you call the Sky Talk Help line they will be able to tell you what is going on. Sky's right hand does not tell the left what it's doing, that is one of their biggest problems.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      pskyp's Avatar
      pskyp is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      55
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky cant upgrade broadband

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      If you have just moved recently to Sky Rental, this could be the problem. Maybe if you call the Sky Talk Help line they will be able to tell you what is going on. Sky's right hand does not tell the left what it's doing, that is one of their biggest problems.

      yes we have been with sky rental for about 6 months now

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky cant upgrade broadband

      That is almost unbelievable, Sky think their own line with their broadband on it is incompatible? Try calling Talk support and see what they say. If you don't get any satisfaction, send an email to jeremy.darroch @ sky.com and tell them of the problem you are having. One of his minions will soon sort it out.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      pskyp's Avatar
      pskyp is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      55
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky cant upgrade broadband

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      That is almost unbelievable, Sky think their own line with their broadband on it is incompatible? Try calling Talk support and see what they say. If you don't get any satisfaction, send an email to jeremy.darroch @ sky.com and tell them of the problem you are having. One of his minions will soon sort it out.

      Ok thank you

    11. #10
      pskyp's Avatar
      pskyp is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      55
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky cant upgrade broadband

      Just went through it with the sky talk help team and broadband

      apparently it is a known issue with sky and they are trying to fix it but no date as to when

      Well at least they cant cap me then as they cant upgrade me

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION