Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Just been reconnected but at 4meg

    This is a discussion on Just been reconnected but at 4meg within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I've been on the max package from when it was fir available. I have the first white neatgear router (DG824GT). ...

    1. #1
      stevvie's Avatar
      stevvie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bradwell Abbey (SMBA)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Milton Keynes
      Posts
      149
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Just been reconnected but at 4meg

      I've been on the max package from when it was fir available. I have the first white neatgear router (DG824GT). No we had some problems from BT and they WRONGLY informed sky we had NO line. I was still getting ADSL at this point. I have since had sky reconnect me but now it's only connecting at 4094 kbps where it was connecting at between 12000-14000 before.

      My stats are
      Connection Speed 4094 kbps 510 kbps
      Line Attenuation 37.0 db 21.3 db
      Noise Margin 15.4 db 21.5 db.

      does this seem right for my noise and attenuation ?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Just been reconnected but at 4meg

      did you read your activation letter, it tells you you start at 4Mbps and go up...read the DLM section further down the forum for info...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,370
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just been reconnected but at 4meg

      Because you have been reconnected, you start on DLM which has a starting speed on max of 4Mb over 10 days this speed should increase.
      Also if you have any extensions in the house, look on the back of the master socket faceplate and disconnect any wires connected to terminal 3 which is the ring wire and is not needed.

    5. #4
      stevvie's Avatar
      stevvie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bradwell Abbey (SMBA)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Milton Keynes
      Posts
      149
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just been reconnected but at 4meg

      Cheers, I have have a BT engineer installed face plate and as I said I was getting between 12000-14000 before this BT mess. Thanks for that, i'll read the DLM section. THANKS

    6. #5
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Just been reconnected but at 4meg

      With that attenuation, I would expect around 10mb max

    7. #6
      stevvie's Avatar
      stevvie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bradwell Abbey (SMBA)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Milton Keynes
      Posts
      149
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just been reconnected but at 4meg

      This is from the detailed stats page of the router (CU firmware)
      SNR (dB): 15.4 21.5
      Attn(dB): 37.0 21.3
      Pwr(dBm): 0.0 10.3
      Max(Kbps): 13792 612
      Rate (Kbps): 4094 510
      So my max should be around 13792 Kbps which was where it was before.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION