Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 38

    Sky internet issues :(

    This is a discussion on Sky internet issues :( within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; 1) I currently have Sky Broadband, and a Sky+ box installed and have done now for a few months. I ...

    1. #1
      grim line's Avatar
      grim line is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Wireless Broadband
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Exclamation Sky internet issues :(

      1) I currently have Sky Broadband, and a Sky+ box installed and have done now for a few months. I also ordered a sky phone line aswell but i am told that sky cannot get BT to transfer the phone line over as we have to change to package 3 but were on package 1. So then i transferred to package 3 and still nothing was done and i recieved a bill of 90 as i was on package 3. So basically for some reason BT will not allow me to transfer over, Any ideas why?

      2) As i am on BT i have a really bad phone line which has ALOT of static which i am told is due to the fact i'm not with sky for my phone line.. but as i have said i cannot transfer over .

      3) I have serious issues with my phone and router. Whenever a call comes in or i call out it cuts off my internet connection for a few minutes. I have removed the facia off the wall and plugged everything in. This is how it looks

      Wall > Micro Filter > Phone cable + ADSL router cable





      I also have loads of issues with my connection going down and the router resetting and getting errors such as;

      ADSL Link Down
      ADSL TRAINING
      PPP Server Down

      When i look at my sky routers status online.

      This is past annoying now and i have contacted sky by phone at least 6 times now and no one can help me. I currently recieve 80kb-300kb connection all the time and it's just really stressing me out and i'm thinking of changing my sky connection if i can't sort this out online.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky internet issues :(

      Please post your router stats? If you have static on your voice line get BT report this as a fault to BT. Changing to Sky WILL NOT fix this.

      What's that cable entering the left of the master socket originating from?

    4. #3
      grim line's Avatar
      grim line is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Wireless Broadband
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky internet issues :(

      Quote Originally Posted by neilmcl View Post
      Please post your router stats? If you have static on your voice line get BT report this as a fault to BT. Changing to Sky WILL NOT fix this.

      What's that cable entering the left of the master socket originating from?
      The guy from sky said that transferring to sky would correct it but i guess he said that to drag me in.

      Modem
      ADSL Firmware Version - A2pB023o.d20h
      Modem Status - Up
      DownStream Connection Speed - 3488
      UpStream Connection Speed - 448
      VPI - 0
      VCI - 38

      That what you wanted?

      Also the cable is the thing that goes into the box on the wall it has a blue and a white wire connected inside.

    5. #4
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky internet issues :(

      Read this How to get your router statistics

      Just cut and paste like this:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 6240 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 31.0 db 16.0 db
      Noise Margin 8.9 db 23.0 db

      Never, never take the word of a Sky salesman.

    6. #5
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky internet issues :(

      Quote Originally Posted by grim line View Post
      Also the cable is the thing that goes into the box on the wall it has a blue and a white wire connected inside.
      Where does it originate from, does it go straight back to the outside?

    7. #6
      grim line's Avatar
      grim line is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Wireless Broadband
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky internet issues :(

      Quote Originally Posted by neilmcl View Post
      Where does it originate from, does it go straight back to the outside?
      It goes straight outside to the telegraph pole.

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3488 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 40.0 db 25.0 db
      Noise Margin 14.4 db 21.0 db

    8. #7
      indefatigable's Avatar
      indefatigable is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: BB tech Support + Max
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD 2TB
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      568
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts

      Re: Sky internet issues :(

      well it seems no-one has noticed the obvious.

      If you have noise on your line, disconnect everything and connect just a telephone directly to your test socket. If the noise persists, its a line fault and BT have to fix it.

      If the noise is gone, then its an equipment issue, which Sky would have to investigate.

      Remove your filters, and connect just the phone into the socket. If its noisy, then get straight onto the phone to BT and get them to fix it.

      If done correctly, this should also resolve your bb issues
      Last edited by indefatigable; 03-10-09 at 08:26 PM. Reason: additon

    9. #8
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Sky internet issues :(

      grim line
      Hi you look like you have some issues so if you do any adjustments do before 5pm or after Midnight as the connect package is traffic shaped during those times

      indefatigable
      Hi you must be talking about Upload 448kbps grim line is on Connect
      well it seems no-one has noticed the obvious.

    10. #9
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky internet issues :(

      Quote Originally Posted by indefatigable View Post
      well it seems no-one has noticed the obvious.

      If you have noise on your line, disconnect everything and connect just a telephone directly to your test socket. If the noise persists, its a line fault and BT have to fix it.
      I think you'll find that I advised the OP to contact BT about a line fault in my first post.

    11. #10
      grim line's Avatar
      grim line is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Wireless Broadband
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky internet issues :(

      Quote Originally Posted by steve16751 View Post
      grim line
      Hi you look like you have some issues so if you do any adjustments do before 5pm or after Midnight as the connect package is traffic shaped during those times

      indefatigable
      Hi you must be talking about Upload 448kbps grim line is on Connect
      I am still completely baffled by all of this. Trying to play on xbox live on an 80kb connection when really i should be on an 8mb

     

     
    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION