Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Test socket problem, slow speeds?

    This is a discussion on Test socket problem, slow speeds? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hello. I'm on broadband max and i'm getting a download speed of 8mb. i live extremely close to the exchange ...

    1. #1
      Kostas's Avatar
      Kostas is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Test socket problem, slow speeds?

      Hello. I'm on broadband max and i'm getting a download speed of 8mb. i live extremely close to the exchange center so i phone up sky to see whats wrong. They told me i should be getting more than that but they dont know why i'm not. They sent me a new router and asked me to phone again when i receive it and plug the router to the test socked.

      Today i received the router plugged it to my old socket, did the test and was getting 12mb. however after a few more tests the speed dropped back to 8mb. Next i plug the router to the test socket but i get no internet, removed the faceplate plugged it again and still no signal. the other sockets work fine even with the faceplate removed. my test socket seems broken, anybody knows what i can do next? thanks for your help in advance.

      these are the stats from the socket i got the router plugged in:

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 40023 63903 0 0 0 0:47:07
      LAN 65807 42321 0 0 0 0:49:53
      WLAN 0 0 0 0 0 0:49:25
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8049 kbps 766 kbps
      Line Attenuation 29.0 db 13.7 db
      Noise Margin 9.1 db 14.5 db


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Test socket problem, slow speeds?

      Your test socket can't be broken else you wouldn't get anything when plugged in via the faceplate - the faceplate after all plugs into the test socket.

      Are you sure that this is the master socket, ie, the first socket where the external cable enters the property? The fact that your other sockets work when you have the faceplate off suggests that either it isn't the master or it's been incorrectly wired.

      BTW you live close to the exchange but not that close, your line length suggests you may get around 14mbps with a good connection.

    4. #3
      Kostas's Avatar
      Kostas is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Test socket problem, slow speeds?

      thats what i thought as well but it looks like a master socket which is quite different than the rest of the sockets in the house. i suspect someone messed up the cable work.

    5. #4
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Test socket problem, slow speeds?

      Take a few pictures of it and post them, we can then tell you how to re-wire it connectly. I suspect the main line has been connected to 5&2 instead of the rear a&b terminals (which are screw type).

    6. #5
      Kostas's Avatar
      Kostas is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Test socket problem, slow speeds?

      thanks guys i will update with pics tomorrow morning.

    7. #6
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Test socket problem, slow speeds?

      Quote Originally Posted by Smithy99 View Post
      Take a few pictures of it and post them, we can then tell you how to re-wire it connectly. I suspect the main line has been connected to 5&2 instead of the rear a&b terminals (which are screw type).
      Only on the older NTE5, NTE5a sockets are all IDC connectors.

    8. #7
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Test socket problem, slow speeds?

      Quote Originally Posted by Kostas View Post
      thats what i thought as well but it looks like a master socket which is quite different than the rest of the sockets in the house. i suspect someone messed up the cable work.
      Go outside and have a look where the telephone cable enters the house and see if this corresponds to the location of this or any other socket.

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Test socket problem, slow speeds?

      If the other sockets work with the faceplate of the master socket removed then they are wired incorrectly. How many cables are going into the 'master' socket? Are there cables attached to the faceplate?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION