Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 30

    Speed gone from 4meg to 1meg, ADSL Nation Faceplate not set up correctly? Pics inside

    This is a discussion on Speed gone from 4meg to 1meg, ADSL Nation Faceplate not set up correctly? Pics inside within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Ok, here are my stats from a few months ago ADSL Link Downstream Upstream Connection Speed 4428 kbps 400 kbps ...

    1. #1
      mattcafc's Avatar
      mattcafc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Speed gone from 4meg to 1meg, ADSL Nation Faceplate not set up correctly? Pics inside

      Ok, here are my stats from a few months ago

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4428 kbps 400 kbps
      Line Attenuation 57.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 9.0 db 13.0 db

      That was connected directly into the main socket. I needed to buy a faceplate so we could allow the telephone line at the same time and got one that was recommended here from ADSL Nation, unfortunatly there wasnt instructions included, so I connected the wires from the guide I could find online that was strictly for my faceplate.

      These are now my stats

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1056 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 59.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 7.4 db 21.0 db

      I presume its probably something to do with the noise margin? (No idea how the Attentuation has managed to increase by 2!)

      Anyway this is how I set up the faceplaye wiring, can anyone tell me if I am going wrong





    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      mattcafc's Avatar
      mattcafc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed gone from 4meg to 1meg, ADSL Nation Faceplate not set up correctly? Pics in

      Just to add by main socket I mean test socket. The faceplate is over the direct entry line into the house so the broadband can be connected directly to the test socket

    4. #3
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Speed gone from 4meg to 1meg, ADSL Nation Faceplate not set up correctly? Pics in

      Connect the wires for your telephone sockets to the numbered terminals
      Blue/ white rings to 2
      White/blue rings to 5
      Orange/white rings to 3

      All other wires should be left disconnected. Do not connect any wires to terminals marked A and B

    5. #4
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,370
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed gone from 4meg to 1meg, ADSL Nation Faceplate not set up correctly? Pics in

      You have the phone side and the ADSL side on the back of the faceplate.

      The phone side, you connect the phone extensions that you may have, tou connect terminals 2,5 and 3.

      Then on the ADSL side you can connect an unfiltered extension for the broadband, if you don't want an ADSL extension then don't connect any wires to this side, and if you do connect to A and B.

      Instructions link:

      http://www.adslnation.com/downloads/...2005_Guide.pdf

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Speed gone from 4meg to 1meg, ADSL Nation Faceplate not set up correctly? Pics in

      Can we assume that the wires you have connected to the terminals are going to your extensions? If so connect the blue/white, white/blue wires to terminals 2 and 5. Connect the orange wire to terminal 3, leave the other loose. Use the proper tool to insert the wires or at a pinch the corner of a thin credi card. Don't use a screwdriver. You should have nothing connected to terminals A and B.

      As a check, look at what colours are connected to the 2 and 5 terminals in your extensions. It should be the blue ones but this is not always the case.

      What stats do you get when plugging the router directly into the test socket, using a plug in filter.

      Fitting instructions can be found here -
      http://www.adslnation.com/downloads/...2005_Guide.pdf

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      mattcafc's Avatar
      mattcafc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed gone from 4meg to 1meg, ADSL Nation Faceplate not set up correctly? Pics in

      I dont have any extensions the ADSL goes straight to that main socket, so I only just realised there shouldnt be any wires going into the ADSL side

      Just taken the wire on the ADSL side out and my stats have gone to

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2208 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 59.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 7.6 db 24.0 db

      I take it the 3 on the phone side make no difference at all to the ADSL?

    8. #7
      mattcafc's Avatar
      mattcafc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed gone from 4meg to 1meg, ADSL Nation Faceplate not set up correctly? Pics in

      Im still 2 megs slower than when I put it on. Could the 2 extra db on the line attentuation cause this? I wouldnt of thought so, but cant see how else its gone down by 2megs

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Speed gone from 4meg to 1meg, ADSL Nation Faceplate not set up correctly? Pics in

      If you don't have any extensions you should not have any wires connected to the faceplate. The blue wires should be connected to the A-B terminals of the backplate.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      mattcafc's Avatar
      mattcafc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed gone from 4meg to 1meg, ADSL Nation Faceplate not set up correctly? Pics in

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      If you don't have any extensions you should not have any wires connected to the faceplate. The blue wires should be connected to the A-B terminals of the backplate.

      I have it wired exactly how you say now. Stats are

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2208 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 59.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 7.5 db 23.0 db


      Still 2 meg down than before

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Speed gone from 4meg to 1meg, ADSL Nation Faceplate not set up correctly? Pics in

      I don't think you are understanding. If you have no extensions you should not have any wires connected to the faceplate. What I said before only applies if you have an extension. I am beginning to think that you did not have an NTE5 linebox, so should not be trying to fit a filtered faceplate. If you have an NTE5 then there is a backplate in it with the A and B terminals on it. These are the ones your incoming wires should be connected to, not the faceplate. If you do not have this backplate, you cannot fit a filtered faceplate.

      Try this, connect the blue/white white/blue to the A and B terminals of the faceplate. Try your stats.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION