Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 30

    Speed gone from 4meg to 1meg, ADSL Nation Faceplate not set up correctly? Pics inside

    This is a discussion on Speed gone from 4meg to 1meg, ADSL Nation Faceplate not set up correctly? Pics inside within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I have had a look back at your previous posts and you do say you have a test socket, so ...

    1. #11
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Speed gone from 4meg to 1meg, ADSL Nation Faceplate not set up correctly? Pics in

      I have had a look back at your previous posts and you do say you have a test socket, so you must have an NTE5. From what I can see in your pictures it does not look like an NTE5 linebox. Are you trying to fit the plate to an extension?

      Can you click the Test Socket link below and confirm that you are connecting the filterplate to this?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed gone from 4meg to 1meg, ADSL Nation Faceplate not set up correctly? Pics in

      Please post a picture of the backplate of the master socket you're trying attach this faceplate to?

    4. #13
      mattcafc's Avatar
      mattcafc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed gone from 4meg to 1meg, ADSL Nation Faceplate not set up correctly? Pics in

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      I don't think you are understanding. If you have no extensions you should not have any wires connected to the faceplate. What I said before only applies if you have an extension. I am beginning to think that you did not have an NTE5 linebox, so should not be trying to fit a filtered faceplate. If you have an NTE5 then there is a backplate in it with the A and B terminals on it. These are the ones your incoming wires should be connected to, not the faceplate. If you do not have this backplate, you cannot fit a filtered faceplate.

      Try this, connect the blue/white white/blue to the A and B terminals of the faceplate. Try your stats.
      Hi
      I have 2 extensions for phones that plug in, but none for adsl. So I presume I need the wires in the phone size.

    5. #14
      mattcafc's Avatar
      mattcafc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed gone from 4meg to 1meg, ADSL Nation Faceplate not set up correctly? Pics in

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      I have had a look back at your previous posts and you do say you have a test socket, so you must have an NTE5. From what I can see in your pictures it does not look like an NTE5 linebox. Are you trying to fit the plate to an extension?

      Can you click the Test Socket link below and confirm that you are connecting the filterplate to this?
      Yes the faceplate is going straight over the test sccket as you have pictured. The reason I fitted it was because I could connect my ADSL to the test socket but then the phone line wouldnt word. So I put the faceplate on so I have 2 sockets for the ADSL and phone.

      My ADSL goes straight to the faceplate on the test socket and my phone is plugged in 2 different rooms in the house

    6. #15
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Speed gone from 4meg to 1meg, ADSL Nation Faceplate not set up correctly? Pics in

      Lets start at the beginning. With the test socket exposed check that you have no dial tone at any extensions you may have. Now connect up the telephone extension sockets to the numbered terminals as has been described.
      You can now connect the router to the socket on the ADSL filter faceplate and assuming it is o.k this should give the same speed as the test socket.

    7. #16
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed gone from 4meg to 1meg, ADSL Nation Faceplate not set up correctly? Pics in

      This is getting increasingly confusing. Some questions:

      Is you original master socket an NTE5?

      If yes to above, prior to fitting the faceplate, what was wired to the lower faceplace of the NTE5?

      Have you simply removed the lower NTE5 faceplate and wired up (incorrectly) the ADSL Nation faceplate in it's place?

      It will be a great help for both us and ultimately yourself if you could answer the above.

    8. #17
      mattcafc's Avatar
      mattcafc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed gone from 4meg to 1meg, ADSL Nation Faceplate not set up correctly? Pics in

      I have unplugged everything, so its just the faceplate going into the test socket and this is the result

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2208 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 59.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 8.0 db 23.0 db

      Does this suggest its the cable that goes from the faceplate to the modem?

    9. #18
      mattcafc's Avatar
      mattcafc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed gone from 4meg to 1meg, ADSL Nation Faceplate not set up correctly? Pics in

      Is you original master socket an NTE5? - YES

      If yes to above, prior to fitting the faceplate, what was wired to the lower faceplace of the NTE5? - The standard facia as pictured in isitmes signiture.

      Have you simply removed the lower NTE5 faceplate and wired up (incorrectly) the ADSL Nation faceplate in it's place? YES, however I have now wired it correctly and its only 2 meg

    10. #19
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Speed gone from 4meg to 1meg, ADSL Nation Faceplate not set up correctly? Pics in

      OK, Remove the faceplate and plug into the test socket using a loose filter. What are your stats now?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #20
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Speed gone from 4meg to 1meg, ADSL Nation Faceplate not set up correctly? Pics in

      Right, assuming that with the test socket exposed you have no dial tone other than at the test socket, use a normal filter connected to the test socket and see what speed you get then. If its better you may have a defective filter faceplate.

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION