Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 19

    Should I be getting the full 10mb

    This is a discussion on Should I be getting the full 10mb within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Recently been through DLM . Before DLM my connection speed was 8130 down and 384 up and was expecting the ...

    1. #1
      Naranja's Avatar
      Naranja is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Should I be getting the full 10mb

      Recently been through DLM.

      Before DLM my connection speed was 8130 down and 384 up and was expecting the full 10000kbps, should I be getting the10000kbps as when SKY tested the line when I joined they said I should get between 14 and 16.
      Line Attn and NM hasn't changed much.

      My new stat's are below,

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8188 kbps 606 kbps
      Line Attenuation 33 db 18 db
      Noise Margin 9 db 18 db

      Thanks for any help.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Should I be getting the full 10mb

      Yes your attenuation should support 10 meg.
      Take some stats from the test socket as a comparison.


    4. #3
      Naranja's Avatar
      Naranja is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Should I be getting the full 10mb

      I checked every day during DLM and my download speed never increased past what it is now, I will get a comparison from the test socket tomorrow and post back.

    5. #4
      Naranja's Avatar
      Naranja is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Should I be getting the full 10mb

      Here are my stats from the test socket, no real change except for the noise margin. Stats taken 1 hour after plugging in.

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8188 kbps 606 kbps
      Line Attenuation 32 db 18 db
      Noise Margin 15 db 23 db

      Do I need to contact sky or should I be happy with what I've got?

    6. #5
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Should I be getting the full 10mb

      It was the noise margin that we're interested in seeing and as I suspected it has increased now that you've isolated the connection from your internal wiring. This suggests that there's an issue with your wiring which you could do with looking at. Even with your normal stats you should get nearer 10mbps, with these new ones then there's no doubt.

      How many telephone extensions do you have and assuming they're all connected via your master socket faceplate if any wires are connected to terminal 3 try removing this as it's the ring wire and is a common cause of broadband interference. Also make sure that anything plugged into a telephone socket should be via a microfilter.

      If you do have extensions then you could probably benefit from a filtered faceplate such as this http://www.adslnation.com/phpapps/ca...products_id=90

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Should I be getting the full 10mb

      Do I need to contact sky or should I be happy with what I've got?
      Until you sort out your wiring as Neil suggests, it is a waste of time phoning Sky. You connection is being slowed down by your internal wiring, when you sort this out, then you can phone Sky and get them to lift the cap.

      If you are prepared to keep your router plugged into the Test socket, you can phone them now, but be aware that if you move the router back to its old position, you line will drop and connect at a lower speed.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      Naranja's Avatar
      Naranja is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Should I be getting the full 10mb

      Quote Originally Posted by neilmcl View Post
      It was the noise margin that we're interested in seeing and as I suspected it has increased now that you've isolated the connection from your internal wiring. This suggests that there's an issue with your wiring which you could do with looking at. Even with your normal stats you should get nearer 10mbps, with these new ones then there's no doubt.

      How many telephone extensions do you have and assuming they're all connected via your master socket faceplate if any wires are connected to terminal 3 try removing this as it's the ring wire and is a common cause of broadband interference. Also make sure that anything plugged into a telephone socket should be via a microfilter.

      If you do have extensions then you could probably benefit from a filtered faceplate such as this ADSL Nation LTD.
      I have five extension sockets that are distributed from the loft, the loft junction is fed from the main/test socket by the front door so probably a very long extension to the socket that the router is plugged into in the living room.

      I disconnected the bell wire in all sockets last year as noise margin as down was dropping below 1.

      Thanks for all your help.
      Last edited by Naranja; 27-09-09 at 01:54 PM.

    9. #8
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Should I be getting the full 10mb

      There's no way you can connect the router to the master socket rather than use the one in the living room.

    10. #9
      Naranja's Avatar
      Naranja is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Should I be getting the full 10mb

      Quote Originally Posted by neilmcl View Post
      There's no way you can connect the router to the master socket rather than use the one in the living room.
      I now have the router connected to the master, not test socket but this is temporary as the power outlet is on the other side of the front door.

      I have had a few dropped connections ie nm dropping below zero, is there a problem with the faceplate?

      Stats from master socket.

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8188 kbps 606 kbps
      Line Attenuation 33 db 18 db
      Noise Margin 16 db 19 db

      Noise margin on down fluctuating between 13 and 16.

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Should I be getting the full 10mb

      I have had a few dropped connections ie nm dropping below zero, is there a problem with the faceplate?
      More likely to be your internal wiring causing the problem. Fitting and using a filtered faceplate would solve most of your problems.

      You say you disconnected the ring wire in your extensions, did you disconnect it in the Master socket. That is the important one, the others don't really matter.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION