Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 19 of 19

    Should I be getting the full 10mb

    This is a discussion on Should I be getting the full 10mb within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by Isitme More likely to be your internal wiring causing the problem. Fitting and using a filtered faceplate ...

    1. #11
      Naranja's Avatar
      Naranja is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Should I be getting the full 10mb

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      More likely to be your internal wiring causing the problem. Fitting and using a filtered faceplate would solve most of your problems.

      You say you disconnected the ring wire in your extensions, did you disconnect it in the Master socket. That is the important one, the others don't really matter.
      Yes, removed it from master socket and all extensions as well.

      Thanks for your help I will get an ADSL Nation faceplate.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Should I be getting the full 10mb

      Remember the filtered faceplate must be fitted on the master socket and this will then be the only socket you can use to plug in your router.

      You could run a dedicated ADSL socket off it and wire it to a more convenient place or better still run an ethernet cable from it to the routers position.

    4. #13
      Naranja's Avatar
      Naranja is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Should I be getting the full 10mb

      I'm back in the socket in the living room and my stats are:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8188 kbps 606 kbps
      Line Attenuation 33 db 18 db
      Noise Margin 15 db 18 db

      I'm confused now also if I can only plug the router into the adsl faceplate then there's probably no point in getting one as it's not practical.

    5. #14
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Should I be getting the full 10mb

      It would not be worth it if your noise margin stayed like that, but I think you will find it takes a dive after a while.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #15
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Should I be getting the full 10mb

      Quote Originally Posted by Naranja View Post
      I'm back in the socket in the living room and my stats are:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8188 kbps 606 kbps
      Line Attenuation 33 db 18 db
      Noise Margin 15 db 18 db

      I'm confused now also if I can only plug the router into the adsl faceplate then there's probably no point in getting one as it's not practical.
      When you took the stats from you first post was that during the night. It may well be that your line is picking up interference once the evening draws in, which is increasingly a common problem and one which is particularly difficult to get resolved. This may account for the different noise margin figures.

      ::. Kitz - REIN .::

    7. #16
      Naranja's Avatar
      Naranja is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Should I be getting the full 10mb

      The stats were taken just before I posted last night, 22.07.

    8. #17
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Should I be getting the full 10mb

      That'll explain it then, you're probably suffering from REIN.

      Download and run a copy of Routerstats lite - Internet Software , this will monitor your speed and noise margin over a period and you'll be able to see from the graphs just when your noise margin takes a dive which may reveal a pattern.

    9. #18
      Naranja's Avatar
      Naranja is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Should I be getting the full 10mb

      Thanks once again Neil,

      During the last evening the download noise margin steadily dropped to around 12-14db. This morning it is back to a quite steady 16db so you could be right about REIN whatever that is.

      What would be the best thing to do?

    10. #19
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Should I be getting the full 10mb

      If it only drops by around 2db then this is completely normal. As you not getting any disconnections at night you'll be hard pressed to get Sky to do anything about it as it's notoriously difficult to remedy.

      You can still give Sky a call to see if they'll increase your speed to the full 10mbps, tell them you've recently improved your wiring ans ask them to take a look.

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION