Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 19

    Sky Max Speed Downgrade

    This is a discussion on Sky Max Speed Downgrade within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi there, I have the Sky Max broadband package. When I first got the broadband I got about 14meg DL ...

    1. #1
      chris_5252's Avatar
      chris_5252 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky Max Speed Downgrade

      Hi there,

      I have the Sky Max broadband package. When I first got the broadband I got about 14meg DL speed, however it was constantly disconnecting. I rang Sky and they informed me that my line was unable to handle 20meg and they downgraded it to 8meg.

      As you can see this is a big step down in speed and I was wondering if there was anything I could do to improve the quality of the line or anything?

      Also because im still paying for the max package because of the unlimited usage.

      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Sky Max Speed Downgrade

      Please post your router stats from the current location and also from the test socket for comparison, without these nobody can really find out what the problem may be.

    4. #3
      chris_5252's Avatar
      chris_5252 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Max Speed Downgrade

      Hey,

      Here are the router stats. I am unable to perform the test socket test at the moment.


    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky Max Speed Downgrade

      It looks like your line can handle a lot more speed. Just in case you have a very large noise swing, download and run Router stats Lite from here-
      RouterStats -Lite

      Run it for 24 hours, leave your PC running as the noise problem could be outwith the time you normally use it. Ideally you should not see a drop in the noise margin of more than 1 or 2 dbs. If you are in doubt post the graphs. On the Setup - Graphs tab set the interval to 60 secs and the points to 480. This will give you 8 hour graphs.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Sky Max Speed Downgrade

      Your line is heavily capped and should easily get 20mb.

      Ring Sky and ask them to lift the cap, you will need CST to do this.

      I would do this now and then as suggested have the routerstats monitoring your connecting for a few days to see if anything is affecting it.

    7. #6
      chris_5252's Avatar
      chris_5252 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Max Speed Downgrade

      Hi,

      Thanks for you help.

      So by those router stats is it possible to tell if it would cause any disconnecting on the line.

      Also what is CST?

      Thanks

    8. #7
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Sky Max Speed Downgrade

      You cannot really tell what will happen untill you try it but you have a good set of stats so as long as there is no intermittent fault it should be fine.

      There is certainly no need to cap it to 8mb with those stats.

      CST is Sky's higher support level who can make changes to your lie setup.

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky Max Speed Downgrade

      So by those router stats is it possible to tell if it would cause any disconnecting on the line.
      Yes if your noise margin drops by much more than 2 or 3 dbs your connection would drop if it were set to the default of 6.9. It looks like this may have been happening and they have capped you down, or you may even be on G.DMT, which restricts you to 8Mb. What ever it is they have been far too severe in setting the cap.

      It may be worthwhile checking your internal wiring, by plugging into the Test socket, link below and post your stats.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Sky Max Speed Downgrade

      he's on adsl2+...upstream config is 768kbps - which comes in less on adsl2+...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky Max Speed Downgrade

      I thought ADSL2+(not DLMd) was 764 and G.DMT was 768? It was in the past.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION