Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Speeds after upgrade

    This is a discussion on Speeds after upgrade within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hello, Would just like to ask for an expert opinion on my speeds after the upgrade. Im not very tech ...

    1. #1
      gav1972's Avatar
      gav1972 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: pollok
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Speeds after upgrade

      Hello,
      Would just like to ask for an expert opinion on my speeds after the upgrade. Im not very tech savvy but i thought i might of got a wee bit more out of it.

      Here's my stats and thanks in advance.

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 17501 kbps 1015 kbps
      Line Attenuation 17.5 db 8.9 db
      Noise Margin 7.2 db 8.0 db


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speeds after upgrade

      You should really be looking at the full 20mb but you seem to have a bit of noise on the line that's preventing this. Can you repost your stats whilst connected to the test socket - Sky User - How to test your Master Socket

      Make sure it's just your router connected, via it's microfilter, and that all your other phone sockets are dead.

    4. #3
      gav1972's Avatar
      gav1972 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: pollok
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speeds after upgrade

      Thanks for the quick response neilmcl, unfortunately i think my master socket is a very old one, don't think it has a test socket, plus hard to get good access to due to furniture etc.

      I think you are spot on tho with the noisy line , can hear crackling sometimes when using the phone

      thanks again anyway

    5. #4
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speeds after upgrade

      Quote Originally Posted by gav1972 View Post
      Thanks for the quick response neilmcl, unfortunately i think my master socket is a very old one, don't think it has a test socket, plus hard to get good access to due to furniture etc.

      I think you are spot on tho with the noisy line , can hear crackling sometimes when using the phone

      thanks again anyway
      I wasn't referring to the sort of noise you can usually hear, more so regarding general interference affecting your noise margin. If you do have a crackly line then I'd contact your voice service provider about it, if they send out a BT engineer then he'll probably fit a new NTE5a socket for you for free, as long as a fault is discovered. DO NOT mention anything about Broadband.

      If you want to see if you can improve your speed then you could always open up the master socket and remove the ring wire, which is connected to no. 3 terminal and is a common source for interference. If you're happy with what you've got, and 17.5 mb is pretty reasonable, then that's fine.

    6. #5
      gav1972's Avatar
      gav1972 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: pollok
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speeds after upgrade

      Thanks for the advice m8.
      Im happy enough with the speeds im getting so i'll just leave it be.
      Dont fix something thats not broke so they say

      anyways thanks again .

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Speeds after upgrade

      If you are hearing noise on your voice line, you should get it fixed. It could make a big difference to your broadband. In addition it is more likely to get worse than cure itself.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION