Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 27

    sky dg934g and WNHDE111

    This is a discussion on sky dg934g and WNHDE111 within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; runs on electric so it would mean i would have to buy a ups to protect them all when power ...

    1. #11
      deadman1984's Avatar
      deadman1984 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ponteland Newcastle Upon Tyne
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 1
      Router: dreytek vigor 130 modem + archer c7
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD + multi
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      newcastle upon tyne uk
      Posts
      3,235
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 28 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: sky dg934g and WNHDE111

      runs on electric so it would mean i would have to buy a ups to protect them all when power failure happens as it happens alot in my area in the uk. which is really annoying and frustraighting i was gonna connect all my pcs and internet boxs to a ups that way i dont get cut off every month or so.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Ronnyuk's Avatar
      Ronnyuk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Clevedon
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sky dg934g and WNHDE111

      Quote Originally Posted by deadman1984 View Post
      runs on electric so it would mean i would have to buy a ups to protect them all when power failure happens as it happens alot in my area in the uk. which is really annoying and frustraighting i was gonna connect all my pcs and internet boxs to a ups that way i dont get cut off every month or so.
      Your going to get cut off anyway lol, if you lose power you will lose everything, router, switch, pc, xbox, wireless, homeplugs, a UPS is only really for servers, it gives you 15 mins to save any work then it will shutdown if you use the supplied software and lead. <perhaps your thinking of backup generator>

      Just make sure if you go the homeplug route your home sockets are not on seperate ring mains, ie upstairs and downstairs, if they are you wont be able to use the homeplug method.

    4. #13
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: sky dg934g and WNHDE111

      if they are you wont be able to use the homeplug method
      .

      Where did you get that information, link please?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #14
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: sky dg934g and WNHDE111

      Homeplgs work fine on different ring mains as long as they are all connected using the same fuse board.

      I know, I have three ring mains in my house and all have homeplugs on which work with each other without problems.

      The only time this could be a problem is if you have 3 phase electrics and the homeplugs are on different phases, this is extremely unlikely to happen in a house, usually only large industrial units would have a 3 phase electricity supply.

    6. #15
      deadman1984's Avatar
      deadman1984 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ponteland Newcastle Upon Tyne
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 1
      Router: dreytek vigor 130 modem + archer c7
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD + multi
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      newcastle upon tyne uk
      Posts
      3,235
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 28 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: sky dg934g and WNHDE111

      now your confusing me i thought ups are ment to keep your system on till main power is restored how much is a generator bet there not cheap haha

    7. #16
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: sky dg934g and WNHDE111

      If it was as easy as that we wouldn't need power stations nuclear or coal!!!

    8. #17
      deadman1984's Avatar
      deadman1984 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ponteland Newcastle Upon Tyne
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 1
      Router: dreytek vigor 130 modem + archer c7
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD + multi
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      newcastle upon tyne uk
      Posts
      3,235
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 28 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: sky dg934g and WNHDE111

      yea true i supose can i get any power generator or does it have to be a certain one its only for my pcs and my internet boxes

    9. #18
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: sky dg934g and WNHDE111

      You will need to calculate the wattage that your critical equipment requires and then get a generator to match.

      You will need a UPS to keep it all going until you can connect and start the generator.

      It will also help if you live close to a petrol station or have a fuel dump/fuel supply etc.

      As you can see it is not really cost effective.

    10. #19
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: sky dg934g and WNHDE111

      You would also need special switchgear to transfer from the mains to the generator. All would have to be installed by a professional, inspected and approved by your electricity supply company. It would not be cheap. You would need a very big piggy bank

      Maybe you should come down to earth, get a couple of homeplugs and get on with enjoying your PC.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #20
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: sky dg934g and WNHDE111

      Or move your stuff into a hospital, they have the gear ready to go

      Another thought, buy one of those big windmills and a shed load of batteries!!!

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION