Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 18

    Post DLM 10 day period...

    This is a discussion on Post DLM 10 day period... within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; After being on 4mbps for first few days (and leaving router on solidly)...we quickly rose to the following, but it ...

    1. #1
      mj_asylum's Avatar
      mj_asylum is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Carrickfergus
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      108
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Post DLM 10 day period...

      After being on 4mbps for first few days (and leaving router on solidly)...we quickly rose to the following, but it remained that way.

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 14331 kbps 1012 kbps
      Line Attenuation 22 db 10 db
      Noise Margin 11 db 8 db

      I was expecting a touch more than this (though the upload is wonderful). But since DLM was running and I didnt get to sneak behind master socket before it started...I fear there is a few extensions to remove from it.

      Now that DLM has supposedly finished, I feel I can now look at the socket and test it as well as taking out any extensions.

      Though I will say now. I'm fully aware routers have to be in master sockets for the full wack. But alas my master socket has no power source near it. No doubt I'll get a mini extension to connect router in there to check difference. As putting a power extension to that master is not practical as it goes across a front door.
      The router is on an extension a few feet away from master.

      I'm aware that can cause flaws. So I'll see what I can do to get the router on that master permanently.
      Sammy Davis Jr: "When God made me He took one step back and hit me up the face with a shovel."


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      mj_asylum's Avatar
      mj_asylum is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Carrickfergus
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      108
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Post DLM 10 day period...

      Update, running router on master socket makes for no difference with download speed, but increases upload by 3kbps....LOL

      So I'll just keep it on the mini extension for practical reasons.

      Is there any other way apart from checking said extensions (not including the one the router is running off) to increase my 14mbps?

      I'm spoiled...I had 16mbps at my other house a street away that had 18 line attenuation....I think I need to increase my noise margin?
      Sammy Davis Jr: "When God made me He took one step back and hit me up the face with a shovel."

    4. #3
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Post DLM 10 day period...

      Did the Attenuation or noise margin change when in the main socket (test socket if you have one)? That is the big question. If it changes significantly plugging into there and telling tier 1 you have fixed an issue internally will get the line reset.

    5. #4
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Post DLM 10 day period...

      Quote Originally Posted by mj_asylum View Post
      Update, running router on master socket makes for no difference with download speed, but increases upload by 3kbps....LOL

      So I'll just keep it on the mini extension for practical reasons.

      Is there any other way apart from checking said extensions (not including the one the router is running off) to increase my 14mbps?

      I'm spoiled...I had 16mbps at my other house a street away that had 18 line attenuation....I think I need to increase my noise margin?
      Your speed wont automatically increase now, because it'll be capped, if indeed DLM has completed. What you should be looking for is an increase in your noise margin which will give an indication of what more speed is potentially available.

      You say you used the master socket, did you remove the faceplate and plug your router into the test socket, assuming you have one. If not, please do so and report your stats. Make sure that nothing else is connected to your phone line (no phones, Sky boxes etc) and check that all other phone sockets are now dead.

      Also what is this "mini extension" you're referring to, is it a properly wired telephone socket or just an extension you plug into the front of your master socket?

    6. #5
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Post DLM 10 day period...

      Personally, I'd leave the stats as they are. You have a rather healthy D/S SNR and you're not going to push out that much more even if sky lift the slight cap on the downstream sync. I think this is an example where DLM actually gets it right.

      Edit: I'll elaborate a bit more - if sky lift the cap and you sync at say around 15mbps or thereabouts, then your SNR would be around 7 or so. If your line is susceptible to noise, then the SNR may drop in some instances leaving it rather low, building errors and reducing your actual throughput and possibly even dropping out. I'd keep it like it is at the moment.

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Post DLM 10 day period...

      I'd keep it like it is at the moment.
      I would still advise plugging into the Test socket if you have hardwired extensions. If you do not have a test socket and have extensions, remove the wire from terminal 3 on the backplate of the master socket. The other sockets do not matter. Remember it is an increase in the downstream noise margin you are looking for, not an increase in speed at this stage.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Post DLM 10 day period...

      remember, DLM is a constant process...it'll run once, then run again if it thinks it needs to...it ONLY stops when suspended by CST...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    9. #8
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Post DLM 10 day period...

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      remember, DLM is a constant process...it'll run once, then run again if it thinks it needs to...it ONLY stops when suspended by CST...
      Are you sure? If so why am I stuck at 5mb's even though I removed a problem extension lead? yet I had a solid 8mb for the last 3 years prior to DLM.
      Sorry to hijack thread

    10. #9
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Post DLM 10 day period...

      Yes that is how it must work, just be patent, leave it synced for a week or so and if the speed has not increased re-sync the router and you should be back at full speed assuming that your previous speed has errors which DLM is happy with.

    11. #10
      mj_asylum's Avatar
      mj_asylum is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Carrickfergus
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      108
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Post DLM 10 day period...New house

      It's one of those 'aw crap' moments.

      Guess what...the wire coming into the house comes to a socket, it screws off at the front...but all the front comes off...no test socket behind. Crap.

      It's is not the screw off (lower half comes off) type.

      Am I able to change this old one to one of the filtered face plates ok?

      I will tell you now....I'm pretty sure that three bedrooms, and the living room all have extentions running off this 1st socket.

      BTW...seeing as there is no test socket.
      The 1st socket and the extention of into the livingroom...the SNR doesnt change. But the upload speed jumps by 0.3kbps. Tiny. LOL
      The bedrooms having extention sockets...the living room (router) having a connector but not a fixed box.

      Cant really make out the wires...I'm sure if I had more time I could have a good look over it.

      But my heart sank when I looked at the 1st box running from the drop wire..and it was a BT socket...but not the more modern half & half screw off variety and my heart sank further when I saw there was no test socket.

      Have yet to remove all the unused extentions.
      Sammy Davis Jr: "When God made me He took one step back and hit me up the face with a shovel."

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION