Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Sky Broadband

    This is a discussion on Sky Broadband within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi Being sick and tired of this new 'everyday' package they offer. 10gb isn't enough and I dont want screwing ...

    1. #1
      jaymond's Avatar
      jaymond is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD & Sky+
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      36
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky Broadband

      Hi

      Being sick and tired of this new 'everyday' package they offer. 10gb isn't enough and I dont want screwing over, it's time I got unlimited.

      Now here are my stats:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5120 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 46.0 db 27.0 db
      Noise Margin 14.8 db 13.0 db


      Am I on the lines limits or could I expect more on the up to 20mb service?

      Thanks.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband

      Well 'Everyday/Mid' is an upto 8Mb package and you are currently only getting 5.5Mb, so moving to an upto 20Mb service isn't going to see any increase.

      However, you should be able to eek a bit more for your current stats as you have a high noise margin, so yuo may well be capped. If you do go to Unlimited, then I guess your line will go back thru DLM to reconfigure to the best speed so make surte you have read the notes on the TEST socket under the Master Socket and use of a filtered faceplate to give you the best fighting chance.

      For your attenuation, you should be able to get 6-7Mb.

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband

      You are not getting as much as you should at the moment, you should have another 2+Mb. However, upgrading to Unlimited will not get you any more speed, only the extra usage allowance.

      You are on G.DMT at the moment and appear to be capped. Usually there is a reason for capping, such as line instability. DLM will be run on your line very shortly so you should do all you can to prepare for it. If you don't you are likely to be capped to an even lower speed, as ADSL2+ is more susceptible to line noise.

      Plug into your Test socket, link below and take and post your stats from there. Do not use an extension, plug the RJ11 cable directly into the filter.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      jaymond's Avatar
      jaymond is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD & Sky+
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      36
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband

      How can you tell G.DMT is active?

      I dont mind if I can't get much more or anything infact. I just want my usage back lol...

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband

      G.DMT is the mode your line is operating on, the upload speed suggests this. Have you not had a letter from Sky about their 'new improved speeds'?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      jaymond's Avatar
      jaymond is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD & Sky+
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      36
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband

      I had an email...on September 10 2009

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband

      Training will start on your line quite soon. Save yourself a lot of problems and sort your wiring out now.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      jaymond's Avatar
      jaymond is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD & Sky+
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      36
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband

      Im no good with wiring lol else I would.

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband

      Plug into your Test socket for a start and post your stats.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION