Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 16

    Interferance?

    This is a discussion on Interferance? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; This has been happening for quite a while now, and Sky say it is not, as it is impossible. Someone ...

    1. #1
      daver1974's Avatar
      daver1974 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Scotstoun
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Glasgow
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Interferance?

      This has been happening for quite a while now, and Sky say it is not, as it is impossible.
      Someone in our area has a BT Homehub, and whenever they switch it on, our Internet connection goes down. Not the wireless, but the actual connection between the router and Sky.
      I have just confirmed this myself 10 minutes ago, when connection was lost to the net, even on my PC connected via Ethernet!
      I quickly logged into the router and saw a noise margin of over 2 billion.
      Both the wireless laptops reported new wireless device detected (BT Homehub) yet the laptops remained connected to the Sky router.
      Anyone any ideas what we should do now, since Sky are refusing to acknowledge this issue?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Interferance?

      Hmmm,

      - well if it is a home hub that is causing the problem then it wouldn't be a sky issue.
      - however, I do agree with Sky that someone switching on a home hub wouldn't knock out your router synching with the exchange unless there is a real problem with the BT wiring which is somehow cross-wired with yours

      Really don't know what to advise. I think it's one for BT to look into. Now normally you'd have to get Sky to call out BT if it's internet related. You need to try and generate a problem on the voice line so that you can talk to BT direct and get them to check things out.

    4. #3
      Ned Ludd's Avatar
      Ned Ludd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Haxby
      Broadband ISP: PlusNet
      Router: TP-Link WR2543ND
      Sky TV: FreeSat
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      York
      Posts
      703
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: Interferance?

      If your telephone service is with BT, you could try reporting it as a fault!
      Tell them you lose the phone as well.
      Geoff, York.
      Can't call me a Luddite now!


    5. #4
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Interferance?

      The BT hub appearing as a new device could be a red herring, it could be there all the time and your laptop has just started a new search for a new working device because it realise's it has lost connection via it's default router. Have you done a manual scan for the BT Hub when things are running normally?

    6. #5
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Interferance?

      Quote Originally Posted by Ned Ludd View Post
      If your telephone service is with BT, you could try reporting it as a fault!
      Tell them you lose the phone as well.
      If BT find no fault, you may be charged around 150.

      As pointed out, I couldn't see a BT homehub's wireless signal cause a sync issue. At this point, I'd just think of it as a coincedence if I were yourself and ring sky up regarding an intermittent connection. If it is not affecting your voice line, then it's going to have to go through sky and further fault finding. If it does get to the point where sky can't resolve it, then an engineer appointment may need to be booked for special faults investigation.

    7. #6
      daver1974's Avatar
      daver1974 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Scotstoun
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Glasgow
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Interferance?

      We have performed scans when working normally, and Homehub is not there (the person using it seems to only use it periodically.) Also, the laptops (note the plural) do not lose connection with the router, and they both report the Homehub coming online at the same time, all devices (even my PC connected via ethernet as already mentioned) lose connection to the internet. Sorry Koala, but please read and understand before replying, as the others have done.
      To the others, thanks for your replys, but as our phone is with Sky also, we cannot contact BT, and Sky are refusing to look into this matter, just as with another issue we are having with our Net connection (Line no longer able to handle ADSL2+ but that is another thread lol )

    8. #7
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Interferance?

      Quote Originally Posted by daver1974 View Post
      We have performed scans when working normally, and Homehub is not there (the person using it seems to only use it periodically.) Also, the laptops (note the plural) do not lose connection with the router, and they both report the Homehub coming online at the same time, all devices (even my PC connected via ethernet as already mentioned) lose connection to the internet. Sorry Koala, but please read and understand before replying, as the others have done.
      To the others, thanks for your replys, but as our phone is with Sky also, we cannot contact BT, and Sky are refusing to look into this matter, just as with another issue we are having with our Net connection (Line no longer able to handle ADSL2+ but that is another thread lol )
      I won't bother in future if your gonna be knarky I only tried to help, I've got enough problems of my own without worrying about yours, bye bye

    9. #8
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Interferance?

      I can only assume as others have that this is caused by a line fault somewhere.

      Have you tried turning off the wireless in the router just incase it is causing it to crash when the home hub comes online?

    10. #9
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Interferance?

      REIN fault somwehere? dodgy power supply on their router?
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    11. #10
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Interferance?

      There is documented evidence that BT Home Hub/BT Vision equipment (particularly the comtrend powerline adapters) can cause interference on short wave radio frequencies as outlined on this site - UKQRM Against Power Line Ethernet the worst thing to happen to radio ever!

      Whether this can have an effect on a Sky router in a separate building is debatable. The only time I got any intererance from my comtrend adapters, ie, a definite drop in noise margin when is use, was if they were plugged into the same twin mains socket as the router.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION