Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 16 of 16

    Interferance?

    This is a discussion on Interferance? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; There has to be some connection between both lines for this to happen! I wonder if it's possible that you ...

    1. #11
      Ned Ludd's Avatar
      Ned Ludd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Haxby
      Broadband ISP: PlusNet
      Router: TP-Link WR2543ND
      Sky TV: FreeSat
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      York
      Posts
      703
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: Interferance?

      There has to be some connection between both lines for this to happen!

      I wonder if it's possible that you and the BTHH user are sharing a 'split' telephone line.
      These were used a few years back by BT. One line from the exchange would be split using a special gadget somewhere at the house end. I remember that split lines would restrict the old modems to 28kb or 33kb connections.

      Maybe a bit of door knocking around your neighbours may bring more info?
      Geoff, York.
      Can't call me a Luddite now!



    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Ned Ludd's Avatar
      Ned Ludd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Haxby
      Broadband ISP: PlusNet
      Router: TP-Link WR2543ND
      Sky TV: FreeSat
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      York
      Posts
      703
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: Interferance?

      Quote Originally Posted by neilmcl View Post
      There is documented evidence that BT Home Hub/BT Vision equipment (particularly the comtrend powerline adapters) can cause interference on short wave radio frequencies as outlined on this site - UKQRM Against Power Line Ethernet the worst thing to happen to radio ever!

      Whether this can have an effect on a Sky router in a separate building is debatable. The only time I got any intererance from my comtrend adapters, ie, a definite drop in noise margin when is use, was if they were plugged into the same twin mains socket as the router.

      I regularly pick up BTHH routers on wifi here at home. None have ever caused me a problem!
      Geoff, York.
      Can't call me a Luddite now!


    4. #13
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Interferance?

      Quote Originally Posted by Ned Ludd View Post
      I regularly pick up BTHH routers on wifi here at home. None have ever caused me a problem!
      It's not to do with the BTHH routers but more an issue with the Comtrend powerline adapters. REIN is a particular problem for ADSL and SW radio frequency interference can have an impact but I would doubt that these homeplugs could influence a Sky router or more specific it's incoming line over such a distance.

    5. #14
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Interferance?

      Quote Originally Posted by Ned Ludd View Post
      There has to be some connection between both lines for this to happen!
      No there doesn't, see my above post.
      Last edited by neilmcl; 20-09-09 at 01:57 PM.

    6. #15
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Interferance?

      It may not be the wireless signal from the HH that is knocking you out, but interference on the electrical supply. This could be down to your routers PSU being faulty. Two things you can try, the first is to try another PSU, any 12v 1amp+ one with the correct size plug and polarity would do to check it. You could also try plugging the PSU into a surge suppressor, a good idea even if it does not help in this case.

      I have to say, unless it is a very near neighbour, this is unlikely to be the cause unless the electrical supply in your area is a bit dodgy, but is worth considering.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #16
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Interferance?

      As mentioned, I would report it back to Sky again as a problem where the sync keeps dropping.

      DO NOT MENTION THE BTTH, DO NOT MENTION WHAT YOU THINK IT IS.

      Try to suggest that they send a new router (with power supply) to rule out a router problem as it may simply be that your router has got a fault and the BTTH signal is somehow affecting it.

      As an aside, please try and keep positive with other forum members who try to help even if you feel their response was not helpful... you never know, they may have the answer to a future problem you may have

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION