Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 27

    Recently my connection got upgraded...

    This is a discussion on Recently my connection got upgraded... within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Right, my internet wouldnt even come on when i plugged it into the master/test socket. It didnt even blink the ...

    1. #11
      FriXion's Avatar
      FriXion is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      34
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Recently my connection got upgraded...

      Right, my internet wouldnt even come on when i plugged it into the master/test socket. It didnt even blink the light on the router that shows that its trying. Here is a screeny of what the router page looked like when it was plugged in the master/test socket:



      (on the other page where it shows speed, etc, all of it was 0)


      and now, these 2 screens are what the stats are now (we have now plugged our cable back into the normal bit)





      and the 2 bottom ones read: Recieved Cells, 9
      Transmitted Cells, 88

      then, when i refresh it, these stats: Interleaved Path FEC Correction, (Near End Indicator, 0) [Far End Indicator, 3925]
      Interleaved Path CRC Error (Near End Indicator, 2) [Far End Indicator, 93]
      Received Cells: 12058
      Transmitted Cells: 16503.


      I hope this is enough information, heh.

      (screenies messed up, ignore the double top bit...)


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Recently my connection got upgraded...

      What happened when you plugged the Sky supplied router in? Did it do the same?

    4. #13
      FriXion's Avatar
      FriXion is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      34
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Recently my connection got upgraded...

      Havnt tried ever putting the netgear one in - i dont want to because its a hassle going back to that one just to test it, then coming back to this router...

    5. #14
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Recently my connection got upgraded...

      It may be a hassle but it is the only one Sky authorise you to use and certainly the only one they will troubleshoot for.

      If you want to get this sorted than you will have to bite the bullet and use the Sky router until you get back to normal and then switch it again if you really need too.

    6. #15
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Recently my connection got upgraded...

      Quote Originally Posted by FriXion View Post
      Havnt tried ever putting the netgear one in - i dont want to because its a hassle going back to that one just to test it, then coming back to this router...
      What's the hassle, you plug it in, connect and you check the stats.

      You don't have to perform any installation or anything.

    7. #16
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Recently my connection got upgraded...

      Right, my internet wouldnt even come on when i plugged it into the master/test socket.
      This means your plug was not making proper contact. Unplug the RJ11 from your router, squirt some WD40 on the filter plug and work it in and out of the socket a few times. Plug the other end into your router(preferably the Sky one) and try it again.

      The problems you are having could be down to the plug on the face plate not making proper contact. I will repeat, the Phillips router is not a patch on the Netgear GT

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #17
      FriXion's Avatar
      FriXion is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      34
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Recently my connection got upgraded...

      Well im pretty sure we dont have any WD40 - and i dont think my mum will be prepared to go out and buy some just for this...

      Well this is pretty annoying, so you think we should scrap the philips router? and go back to our broken router?

    9. #18
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Recently my connection got upgraded...

      If you don't have WD40, just use the plug dry, work it in and out a few times and try it.

      What is broken with your Sky router? If it is faulty Sky will replace it. You will probably not get a GT but you will get a 934 or Sagem, both are better than your Phillips.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #19
      FriXion's Avatar
      FriXion is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      34
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Recently my connection got upgraded...

      Well it wasnt broken broken - it was getting VERY hot though. like almost scalding hot. More dropouts then this router though.. do you think sky would give us a new router, or do we have to smash our dg834gt?

    11. #20
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Recently my connection got upgraded...

      Why not just follow the advice here and try it out and see what you get.

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION