Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 25

    Problem arising from a domestic..

    This is a discussion on Problem arising from a domestic.. within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; She just needs a sky router. Any sky login details will do, they are not linked to the account. My ...

    1. #11
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Problem arising from a domestic..

      She just needs a sky router. Any sky login details will do, they are not linked to the account.

      My mate moved house 3 weeks ago and the old owner had SkyBB and he hooked up his sky router and it connected fine. His BB has only just moved over this week, but he was able to use her BB in the interim.

      The login details are embedded and hidden in each sky router.

      Just hit ebay!!!!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Problem arising from a domestic..

      That will work as long as the replacement router log in details arn't already in use.

      ie, the person selling it hasn't just put them into his own existing router and sold the Sky one on.

      But it is certainly worth a try, at least until the phone line is sorted out.

      Here's one:- http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/SKY-Sagem-Wire...d=p3286.c0.m14

    4. #13
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Problem arising from a domestic..

      Quote Originally Posted by reddwarfcrew View Post
      She just needs a sky router. Any sky login details will do, they are not linked to the account.

      My mate moved house 3 weeks ago and the old owner had SkyBB and he hooked up his sky router and it connected fine. His BB has only just moved over this week, but he was able to use her BB in the interim.

      The login details are embedded and hidden in each sky router.

      Just hit ebay!!!!
      that's not strictly true...the router is captured to an individuals account, so if they get cut off for not paying their bill the router will get suspended...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    5. #14
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problem arising from a domestic..

      That's true but the majority of routers being resold on ebay are just ones where the customer has left Sky and has no longer any use for them. And at the price of a (cheap) cup of coffee then it's a bit of a no-brainer.

    6. #15
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Problem arising from a domestic..

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      that's not strictly true...the router is captured to an individuals account, so if they get cut off for not paying their bill the router will get suspended...
      If Sky are that good at keeping records up to date .

      For a few quid, it's worth a shot whilst the longer term solution is sorted (ie change the BT phone line to a new number so that the account is de-linked)

    7. #16
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Problem arising from a domestic..

      .the router is captured to an individuals account, so if they get cut off for not paying their bill the router will get suspended...
      I think this was discussed in depth some time ago. If this were true when a router is replaced the old router would be barred. Maybe this should happen, but as everyone knows, this is not the case. Likewise when anyone left Sky, their router would be cut off, again this is not the case. It appears that the only control Sky actually exercise is over the telephone number. Buying a cheap ex-Sky router is probably the best bet, it can always be flashed and used with any ISP, when things are sorted out.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #17
      dsldude's Avatar
      dsldude is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      295
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Problem arising from a domestic..

      Individual routers can be blocked as is the case if the user has an
      abuse issue or the broadband has been suspended for non payment.

      But if the person has simply had there line ceased or the router is a
      replacement that wasn't actually needed then it will probably work.

    9. #18
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Problem arising from a domestic..

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      I think this was discussed in depth some time ago. If this were true when a router is replaced the old router would be barred. Maybe this should happen, but as everyone knows, this is not the case. Likewise when anyone left Sky, their router would be cut off, again this is not the case. It appears that the only control Sky actually exercise is over the telephone number. Buying a cheap ex-Sky router is probably the best bet, it can always be flashed and used with any ISP, when things are sorted out.
      yes Sky should cut off old routers when replacing them but as we know, they don't...

      what i'm saying is that if someone had like 3 routers, and then sold 2 and was then cut off for billing - all 3 routers would get suspended as they're all linked to the one account...

      so going back to my point - NOT any Sky login will do, as some might be suspended as the person might have been cut off for not paying their bills, left Sky to another ISP and flogging off the old gear not knowing it's suspended...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    10. #19
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Problem arising from a domestic..

      That may be what is supposed to happen, but you and I know that it does not. The only cases reported here where a Sky router failed to connect was when it was not entered into the data base. You may remember a couple of years ago several were sent out without being 'scanned' and could not connect, until the details were entered.

      As I said earlier, if the OP does not want to take advantage of free broadband, they should get in touch with someone in authority who can resolve the situation.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #20
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Problem arising from a domestic..

      I think what we are all trying to say is that 'all things being equal', any old login details will do (but there is a risk that some won't).

      For the sake of a fiver, it's worth the risk whilst the OP's friend changes the BT line so that it is free of BB.

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION