Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 25

    Router/browser issues

    This is a discussion on Router/browser issues within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi all, I have a Netgear DG834 router connected via ethernet to my PC. (vista 64) It had updated firmware ...

    1. #1
      Korny's Avatar
      Korny is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Langley Mill
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Router/browser issues

      Hi all,

      I have a Netgear DG834 router connected via ethernet to my PC. (vista 64)
      It had updated firmware but i reset it back to sky firmware las nyt as I lost my login details.

      FYI....Yes it was plugged into the main BT socket, yes i have tried different filters and yes i have tried the test socket.

      Yesterday my connection dropped and was off for several hours. So i tried turning it off, a reboot, etc and still no internet connection.

      Then i messed with a setting on the router and lost my login details. So had 2 revert back to the original sky firmware.

      Now i can browse with internet expolrer no problem but thats it. Nothing else works, no firefox, no msn, no xfire, nothing that requires a connection will work.

      Also firefox keeps crashing everytime i exit.

      Sky said they are sending me a new router but still cant see this helping.

      Any ideas please?

      thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Router/browser issues

      Sky said they are sending me a new router but still cant see this helping.
      Neither can I, it looks more like a problem with your PC. Try downloading and running Malwarebytes Anti-Malware - Free software downloads and software reviews - CNET Download.com. Make sure you update it before running. If you are unable to download you will have to ask someone to get it for you.

      You can also try reseting the Winsock to do this do the following-

      1. press the Windows key
      2. Type Cmd in the Start Search text box.
      3. Press Ctrl-Shift-Enter to run Command Prompt as Administrator. Allow UAC request.
      4. Type netsh winsock reset in the Command Prompt shell, and then press the Enter key.
      5. Restart the computer.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      Korny's Avatar
      Korny is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Langley Mill
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router/browser issues

      Cheers mate, will try this when i get home.

      I already have malware bytes so i'll run a full scan.

      Thanks.

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Router/browser issues

      I already have malware bytes so i'll run a full scan.
      That's good, everyone should have it. Just make sure you allow it to update, if it will, before running it.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      Korny's Avatar
      Korny is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Langley Mill
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router/browser issues

      Just did a winsock reset and that sorted it mate.

      Thanks very much for you time.


    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Router/browser issues

      No problem, glad to help

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      Korny's Avatar
      Korny is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Langley Mill
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router/browser issues

      Ok so I have a connection and that is all good and well but when checking last night I have some speed issues.

      download - 511kbps
      upload - 400kbps

      I was getting 1600kbps before and now im getting a third of that.

      When checking this morning I am getting

      download - 382kbps
      upload - 442kbps

      I rang sky and they said they "wont" do anything yet as they are sending me a new router. (due to my issues the other day)

      So any ideas? surely my upload being faster than my download isnt right? well I know it isnt right, its ridiculous. Shall i bang the new firmware on and have a tinker? or try a different router? How do i go about setting up the new router to work with sky?

      Thanks in advance.

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Router/browser issues

      You may be on DLM. Post your stats, normal position and Test socket would be good.

      I would not bother messing around with firmware, it makes very little difference to connection speeds.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Router/browser issues

      Quote Originally Posted by Korny View Post
      Ok so I have a connection and that is all good and well but when checking last night I have some speed issues.

      download - 511kbps
      upload - 400kbps

      I was getting 1600kbps before and now im getting a third of that.

      When checking this morning I am getting

      download - 382kbps
      upload - 442kbps

      I rang sky and they said they "wont" do anything yet as they are sending me a new router. (due to my issues the other day)

      So any ideas? surely my upload being faster than my download isnt right? well I know it isnt right, its ridiculous. Shall i bang the new firmware on and have a tinker? or try a different router? How do i go about setting up the new router to work with sky?

      Thanks in advance.
      Auto regrade or DLM started it would seem. As isitme suggested, stick up the stats from both points if possible.

      You could also give sky another ring and get CST to look at the ticket again - just say you've sorted out the first problem and you'd like your line re-configured.

    11. #10
      Korny's Avatar
      Korny is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Langley Mill
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router/browser issues

      Can I just say i was getting 1.6meg before this happened and I am now getting 300kbps. The guy on the phone told me my line was only capable of half a meg, how can i get it back up to near 1.6 when this guy keeps telling me it isnt possible? who do i ask to speak too to get it sorted out? Its so frustrating.

      The stats are the same almost for both normal and test socket. Cant post at the moment because im at work. But My upload is the same if not faster than my download!

      Its about this tho

      connection speed - 331kbps 378kbps
      line attenuation - 70.1db ??cant remember??
      noise margin - 12.1db 11db


      1 more thing.......my pings in game servers have dropped about 40ms. Which i am chuffed with, but not at the expense of all my speed!
      i cant stream any videos or download anything quickly, its driving me mad.

      Thanks.

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION