Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 32

    Sky have capped my line, anything i can do?

    This is a discussion on Sky have capped my line, anything i can do? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; great 4.30pm and im being throttled already lol, hope i can get upgraded today! Will try and get on unlimited ...

    1. #21
      j0n35y's Avatar
      j0n35y is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dartford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Dartford Kent
      Posts
      36
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Sky have capped my line, anything i can do?

      great 4.30pm and im being throttled already lol, hope i can get upgraded today! Will try and get on unlimited seems best suited for my needs.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky have capped my line, anything i can do?

      Yep, it is that time of the day that all Connect users dread

      Do you already have Sky Talk?

    4. #23
      j0n35y's Avatar
      j0n35y is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dartford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Dartford Kent
      Posts
      36
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Sky have capped my line, anything i can do?

      Yep sky provide the whole lot.

    5. #24
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky have capped my line, anything i can do?

      That's OK then, only 10pm if you can get on Unlimited.

    6. #25
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Sky have capped my line, anything i can do?

      j0n35y
      Hi as Isitme said ring Sky and do exactly as he said. There is an ex Connect Customer who had a similar problem and Sky transfered him across. The thread Sky Connect Broadband - Are you being slowed down? paulo de muchi the post 932
      Phone Sky and ask them to move you to their LLU package, threaten to leave if you don't get moved. How much are you paying?

    7. #26
      j0n35y's Avatar
      j0n35y is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dartford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Dartford Kent
      Posts
      36
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Sky have capped my line, anything i can do?

      Hi, just to update everyone, im now on the everyday package. Still only 5 a month and so far so good. Thanks for all the help.

    8. #27
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky have capped my line, anything i can do?

      Post your stats and let us have a look. You will probably be on the start speed for Mid and will have to go through DLM training.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #28
      deadman1984's Avatar
      deadman1984 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ponteland Newcastle Upon Tyne
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 1
      Router: dreytek vigor 130 modem + archer c7
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD + multi
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      newcastle upon tyne uk
      Posts
      3,235
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 28 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Sky have capped my line, anything i can do?

      im on sky unlimited and i have to say its far better than what bt was offering me they offered 8mb for 25 a month but im on sky broadband and im getten 16mb soon to be upgraded to 20mb and i only pay 10 a month. have never hardly had any slowdown whatsoever apart from weekends but who doesnt surf at weekends everyone does just about. weekdays isnt to bad so im happy with skys service so there anyone who thinks there been capped should try the unlimited service if there still not happy then consider another isp. you dont know what somthings like unless you have tried it.

    10. #29
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky have capped my line, anything i can do?

      Unfortunately everyone can't get an LLU package and even fewer can get 16 Mb or better.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #30
      j0n35y's Avatar
      j0n35y is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dartford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Dartford Kent
      Posts
      36
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Sky have capped my line, anything i can do?

      Hi, the 'everyday' package lasted a few days before i realised it was only 10gb a month download limit, rang sky and upgraded to the unlimited package for 10 a month. This was over 2 weeks ago and the line went active yesterday!!! Ive been on holiday for the past 2 weeks and was told by sky that it would take 2-3 days to start, not 14 days!!! SKY chat so much s**t, havent received the router from them either....not that i need/want it.

      So the line went active yesterday for 'unlimited' and I'm guessing I'm in DLM mode now as the line is connecting at 4095 - 510, was 7995- 448 on connect. I read it lasts 20 days or so, so will leave the router on and see what happens.

      Heres my line stats incase anyone is interested

      SNR Margin (dB): 15.7 - 22.0
      Attenuation (dB) : 37.0 - 20.9



      I hope this increases over the next few days, fingers crossed.

      Thanks

     

     
    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION