Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 35

    dg934g and cable routers

    This is a discussion on dg934g and cable routers within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; is it possible to hook up a dual band router to the sky modem router or is it hard to ...

    1. #1
      deadman1984's Avatar
      deadman1984 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ponteland Newcastle Upon Tyne
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 1
      Router: dreytek vigor 130 modem + archer c7
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD + multi
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      newcastle upon tyne uk
      Posts
      3,235
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 28 Times in 25 Posts

      Smile dg934g and cable routers

      is it possible to hook up a dual band router to the sky modem router or is it hard to do its just the sky router is crap sorry to be blunt but its terrible be greatful cheers


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      joss's Avatar
      joss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Adwick-le-Street
      Broadband ISP: sky max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HDmultiroom
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Location
      South Yorkshire
      Posts
      621
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: dg934g and cable routers

      Quote Originally Posted by deadman1984 View Post
      is it possible to hook up a dual band router to the sky modem router or is it hard to do its just the sky router is crap sorry to be blunt but its terrible be greatful cheers
      Piggy backing is well known on this forum. Users whating to take advantage of using their own routers piggy backing of the sky router.

      Not sure if It will support duel band 5Ghz frequency but would accept the more common and crowded 2.4Ghz frequency.

    4. #3
      deadman1984's Avatar
      deadman1984 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ponteland Newcastle Upon Tyne
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 1
      Router: dreytek vigor 130 modem + archer c7
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD + multi
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      newcastle upon tyne uk
      Posts
      3,235
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 28 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: dg934g and cable routers

      im not piggybacking anything im been honest its a terrible router modem surly i can connect a cable router to this modem router buy ethernet surly that would be possible and if so is there anything i need to change in my sky router exsample dhcp or whatever its called

    5. #4
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: dg934g and cable routers

      That is piggybacking. You connect your router to the sky router, let the sky router handle the connection back to sky and your router the connection to your PC.

    6. #5
      joss's Avatar
      joss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Adwick-le-Street
      Broadband ISP: sky max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HDmultiroom
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Location
      South Yorkshire
      Posts
      621
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: dg934g and cable routers

      Quote Originally Posted by deadman1984 View Post
      im not piggybacking anything im been honest its a terrible router modem surly i can connect a cable router to this modem router buy ethernet surly that would be possible and if so is there anything i need to change in my sky router exsample dhcp or whatever its called
      Maybe I should have used a more appropriate term than piggy backing! No it does not mean your animal farming your sky router!!!!!
      It simply means placing one router on top of an other router and connecting between the two. Mind if your that way inclined I guess if you coiled the Ethernet cable it could be made to look like a piggys tail lol

    7. #6
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: dg934g and cable routers

      Quote Originally Posted by joss View Post
      Mind if your that way inclined I guess if you coiled the Ethernet cable it could be made to look like a piggys tail lol

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: dg934g and cable routers

      surly that would be possible and if so is there anything i need to change in my sky router exsample dhcp or whatever its called
      Try this.
      Enter the primary Sky router LAN settings and change the last figure in DHCP server to 253 from 254. Make sure you click Apply

      Remove the Ethernet cable from the Sky router and plug it into the Second router

      Enter the settings of the secondary router using the routers default address, which will depend on its make.
      Configure the IP address of the secondary router to be in the same subnet as the primary router (255.255.255.0) with an address of 192.168.0.254.

      Disable the DHCP server in the secondary router.

      Setup the wireless section with the same settings the primary router. Remember to confirm each change you make.

      Reconnect the Ethernet cable to the Sky router

      Connect from one of the primary router's LAN port to one of the LAN ports on the secondary router. Remember it must be connected by an Ethernet cable which can be up to 100m long..

      Leave the WAN port unconnected!!! After connecting the Ethernet cable to the Sky router, reboot everything to allow new addresses to be allocated. Remember to save all changes as you make them

      If you have followed this correctly, you should be able to enter the Primary routers settings and in the Attached Devices section, you should see that the Secondary router is shown with the 254 address and the PC attached to it should be shown with a different address. You should also be able to see the Secondary routers settings by typing http://192.168.0.254/ in the address bar of any PC attached to the network.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      joss's Avatar
      joss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Adwick-le-Street
      Broadband ISP: sky max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HDmultiroom
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Location
      South Yorkshire
      Posts
      621
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: dg934g and cable routers

      Isitme, Thanks for saving me typing that out lol. As its so detailed can I ask you as mod to make a sticky of it for other users. We could then link to it if, and when needed.

      Good post

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: dg934g and cable routers

      Thanks Joss, being a Newby I don't know how to 'stick' posts yet.

      Maybe some of the old hands will oblige

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      deadman1984's Avatar
      deadman1984 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ponteland Newcastle Upon Tyne
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 1
      Router: dreytek vigor 130 modem + archer c7
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD + multi
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      newcastle upon tyne uk
      Posts
      3,235
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 28 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: dg934g and cable routers

      thanks isitme its just i dont want to remove the router altogether in case i get wrong for doing it does it mean i can use the wirless on the second router instead of the sky one example if my mothers laptop has a dualband adapter does that mean it uses dual band on the second router or does it mean it onlyy works at 2.4ghz b g style

     

     
    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION