Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 35

    dg934g and cable routers

    This is a discussion on dg934g and cable routers within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Your machine gun method of writing makes it a bit difficult to understand what you mean. The odd full stop ...

    1. #11
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: dg934g and cable routers

      Your machine gun method of writing makes it a bit difficult to understand what you mean. The odd full stop and comma would make a difference.

      If you use this method you will be using the wireless capabilities of the second router. ie, if it is an N class router and you have N class adapters you will see the speed advantage.

      I think that some 5ghz routers sold in UK have the 5Ghz mode disabled by default.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      deadman1984's Avatar
      deadman1984 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ponteland Newcastle Upon Tyne
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 1
      Router: dreytek vigor 130 modem + archer c7
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD + multi
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      newcastle upon tyne uk
      Posts
      3,235
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 28 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: dg934g and cable routers

      sorry i dont mean to be hard to understand. its just i want a better router but without sacrifising my sky router so basically the second router is acting like a access point or switch kinda

    4. #13
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: dg934g and cable routers

      That's it, you are using the second router as a wireless switch or a LAN one if you want to.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #14
      deadman1984's Avatar
      deadman1984 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ponteland Newcastle Upon Tyne
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 1
      Router: dreytek vigor 130 modem + archer c7
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD + multi
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      newcastle upon tyne uk
      Posts
      3,235
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 28 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: dg934g and cable routers

      cool and thats basically it has anyone actually tried this at all to see if it does work the only issue im concerned is i dont know if i can turn my sky wirless signal off will the second router still hav firewall and wirless the same as the first router just to clarify and the first router has internet and does that internet go through the second router just to be sure

    6. #15
      Focus2000's Avatar
      Focus2000 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: FreeSat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      40
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: dg934g and cable routers

      This is my set up at the moment (probably not the best, double NAT etc but works for me):

      Link to where i found initial info

      Sky Router:

      Plugged into ASDL phone connector
      One LAN cable to WAN port of second router (must be a cable router not BT)

      LAN Port settings: default (192.168.0.1)

      LAN IP setup:
      Assign a static IP 192.168.0.2 for your second routers MAC address

      Static Routes:
      Private: Ticked
      Active: Ticked

      Destination IP Address: 192.168.1.0
      IP subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0
      Gateway IP Address: 192.168.0.2
      Metric: 2

      Second Router:

      WAN setup:
      Static IP: 192.168.0.2
      Subnet: 255.255.255.0
      Gateway: 192.168.0.1 (Sky router)
      DNS1: Same as Sky (90.207.238.97)
      DNs2: Same as SKY (90.207.238.99)
      DNS3: (if available): 192.168.0.1

      Router Settings:
      Router IP: 192.168.1.1
      Subnet: 255.255.255.0

      DHCP Enabled: Range 192.168.1.2 - anything after that.

      PC's connected to LAN ports on router 2 (will have IP of 192.168.1.x)

      Sky router will be isolated, i.e. anything connected to the Sky router wont be able to access 192.168.1.x (but can access the net).
      But you can access 192.168.0.x from the second router.

    7. #16
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: dg934g and cable routers

      cool and thats basically it has anyone actually tried this at all to see if it does work the only issue im concerned is i dont know if i can turn my sky wirless signal off will the second router still hav firewall and wirless the same as the first router just to clarify and the first router has internet and does that internet go through the second router just to be sure
      Many use this method, myself included. You can turn the Sky router wireless off in the Router's wireless settings, if you have to. The second router is acting as a switch, this is basically what turning DHCP off does, so it's firewall is not on. The addresses are allocated by the Sky router and all machines connected to it and the second router can have access to the internet and each others PCs, if you want to network them.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #17
      deadman1984's Avatar
      deadman1984 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ponteland Newcastle Upon Tyne
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 1
      Router: dreytek vigor 130 modem + archer c7
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD + multi
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      newcastle upon tyne uk
      Posts
      3,235
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 28 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: dg934g and cable routers

      what about a wirless laptop and a wirless xbox 360 can i use both routers for signal wise example use the laptop on the n or dualband router and 360 on sky router

    9. #18
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: dg934g and cable routers

      Try it and see. You may get interference, gaming is better done wired anyway, it is faster and more stable.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #19
      deadman1984's Avatar
      deadman1984 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ponteland Newcastle Upon Tyne
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 1
      Router: dreytek vigor 130 modem + archer c7
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD + multi
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      newcastle upon tyne uk
      Posts
      3,235
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 28 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: dg934g and cable routers

      hi guys i found an oldish modem/router in a box i used to use it on my other isps netgear dg834n i think its a n drat mimo one i copied my user name and password from the site to change my router but for some reason it wouldnt allow me to connect have sky blocked it via a firmware or am i doing something wrong

    11. #20
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: dg934g and cable routers

      am i doing something wrong
      Using far too many smilies for a start

      What happened to the other idea of connecting it to the Sky router to avoid breaking T & Cs?
      Discussing the use of other routers in this way is not encouraged in this section. You should post in the Asking for help section.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION