Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 18

    Speed help

    This is a discussion on Speed help within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hey, So I moved to Sky Broadband a couple of weeks ago, but my speed is slower than my previous ...

    1. #1
      TheDeputy's Avatar
      TheDeputy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01255
      Broadband ISP: AOL
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Speed help

      Hey,

      So I moved to Sky Broadband a couple of weeks ago, but my speed is slower than my previous ISP. I passed the 10 day period last month, but me speed stays at around 4MB. With my previous ISP, AOL, I was on 5MB and was wondering how I could get my speed back to 5MB.

      Also, with Sky BB, pages take a while to load, much longer than when I was with AOL. I use the firefox browser, on the Sky Max package, and when I plugged my router directly into the access point, my speed had only increased by 100kb/s.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Speed help

      You need to post your stats, preferably from the sky router. Also explain your setup so we know what is plugged in where.

    4. #3
      TheDeputy's Avatar
      TheDeputy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01255
      Broadband ISP: AOL
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed help

      Quote Originally Posted by PaulSky View Post
      You need to post your stats, preferably from the sky router. Also explain your setup so we know what is plugged in where.


      I use an extention, due to my access point being too far away. That's strange, on my router stats it says I'm getting 5MB, yet on all the speed tests I do, it never says 5MB.

      Any help on the slow page loading though?

    5. #4
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed help

      You will never get the same speed (throughput) as your connect speed, with any ISP. You could perhaps squeeze another 500kbps -1mbps perhaps but your line may not be as stable. That's fairly reasonable given your distance from the exchange.

      What are you referring to as your "access point"?

    6. #5
      TheDeputy's Avatar
      TheDeputy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01255
      Broadband ISP: AOL
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed help

      Quote Originally Posted by neilmcl View Post
      You will never get the same speed (throughput) as your connect speed, with any ISP. You could perhaps squeeze another 500kbps -1mbps perhaps but your line may not be as stable. That's fairly reasonable given your distance from the exchange.

      What are you referring to as your "access point"?
      But the thing is with AOL, I was getting 5000kb/s in speed tests, but with Sky I never get this.

      Sorry not access point, I mean the master socket. I have to plug everything into my router, and due to the socket being in an arkward place, I have to use an extension.

      The thing that really irritates me is the slow page loading though.

    7. #6
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Speed help

      TheDeputy
      Hi have you used the Sky User - Broadband Speed Tester on this site it is good. Post your next speed test
      just copy and paste to your next post.

    8. #7
      TheDeputy's Avatar
      TheDeputy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01255
      Broadband ISP: AOL
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed help

      Quote Originally Posted by steve16751 View Post
      TheDeputy
      Hi have you used the Sky User - Broadband Speed Tester on this site it is good. Post your next speed test
      just copy and paste to your next post.
      Here you go Steve:

      12 September, 2009 18:08:17 4240 Kbps 659 Kbps

      Hope this helps.

      EDIT: On AOL, I had this:


    9. #8
      figgyp's Avatar
      figgyp is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Redruth
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Location
      Redruth, Cornwall
      Posts
      155
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed help

      You should be happy with this as it shoudlnt really make much of a difference, however with your slow loading webpages I think something unrelated is at fault as even the speed you are getting now shouldnt make website slow.

    10. #9
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed help

      What are your ping times like, try pinging bbc.co.uk.

      If it's quite high then you could try contacting Sky to have your Max Delay reduced, state that your gamer and they should put you through to CST to have this done which may help with your browser issue. It'll also be a good opportunity to get the CST guy to see if he can increase your synch speed.

    11. #10
      TheDeputy's Avatar
      TheDeputy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01255
      Broadband ISP: AOL
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed help

      Quote Originally Posted by neilmcl View Post
      What are your ping times like, try pinging bbc.co.uk.

      If it's quite high then you could try contacting Sky to have your Max Delay reduced, state that your gamer and they should put you through to CST to have this done which may help with your browser issue. It'll also be a good opportunity to get the CST guy to see if he can increase your synch speed.
      Is there a website that can time my ping speeds? Not too sure how to time my ping, sorry.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION