Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 45

    Connection speed dropped.

    This is a discussion on Connection speed dropped. within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi all Been with Sky for a few years now, I don't get the highest connection where I live (in ...

    1. #1
      mantorok's Avatar
      mantorok is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Connection speed dropped.

      Hi all

      Been with Sky for a few years now, I don't get the highest connection where I live (in a village) but it's between 1.2+1.4Mbps usually, until about 2 days ago when it dropped to 1Mbps and has been like that since, upstream has increased though from 384Kbps to 606Kbps. Here are my stats:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1019 kbps 606 kbps
      Line Attenuation 54.5 db 28.7 db
      Noise Margin 7.1 db 15.0 db

      Any ideas why this might be? I should [apparently] be getting up to 2Mbps on my line.

      Thanks
      Kev


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Connection speed dropped.

      You should be getting better than 2 Mb, more like 4Mb. Can you plug into your test socket and take the stats from there, link below.

      It looks like you have been moved to ADSL2+ which has rediced your speed, but let's have a look at the Test stats first.

      If you have an old type socket without a Test plug, remove the wire from terminal 3 on the back of the faceplate. This is the ring wire which is not required and can cause interference.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      Griacs's Avatar
      Griacs is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Croydon
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connection speed dropped.

      Quote Originally Posted by mantorok View Post
      Hi all

      Been with Sky for a few years now, I don't get the highest connection where I live (in a village) but it's between 1.2+1.4Mbps usually, until about 2 days ago when it dropped to 1Mbps and has been like that since, upstream has increased though from 384Kbps to 606Kbps. Here are my stats:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1019 kbps 606 kbps
      Line Attenuation 54.5 db 28.7 db
      Noise Margin 7.1 db 15.0 db

      Any ideas why this might be? I should [apparently] be getting up to 2Mbps on my line.

      Thanks
      Kev
      Had similar problems for the last 48 hours. Inconsistent connection, periods of frequent drop out and a smaller broadband pipe. Broadband support say my network has been migrated overto a new SVBN today so we shall see if this change over has been at the route cause of the problem. Touch wood nothing in the last hour since I received the update.

    5. #4
      mantorok's Avatar
      mantorok is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connection speed dropped.

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      You should be getting better than 2 Mb, more like 4Mb. Can you plug into your test socket and take the stats from there, link below.

      It looks like you have been moved to ADSL2+ which has rediced your speed, but let's have a look at the Test stats first.

      If you have an old type socket without a Test plug, remove the wire from terminal 3 on the back of the faceplate. This is the ring wire which is not required and can cause interference.
      Ok, plugged it into the test socket, this is quite a new master socket without the bell wire:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1019 kbps 606 kbps
      Line Attenuation 54.0 db 28.7 db
      Noise Margin 8.5 db 15.0 db

    6. #5
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connection speed dropped.

      This is still not great.

      Have you just got your router connected to the test socket, nothing else? Try changing the microfilter and make sure that all other phone sockets are dead when you use the test socket. Do you have an alarm connected to the phoneline?

    7. #6
      mantorok's Avatar
      mantorok is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connection speed dropped.

      Quote Originally Posted by neilmcl View Post
      This is still not great.

      Have you just got your router connected to the test socket, nothing else? Try changing the microfilter and make sure that all other phone sockets are dead when you use the test socket. Do you have an alarm connected to the phoneline?
      It's the only thing on the test socket, my master socket is in the loft and after removing the panel from this it disconnects the extension to other sockets, so yes it's completely isolated, I have the router connected to the test line, and after that it's the black BT cable going out of the loft!

    8. #7
      mantorok's Avatar
      mantorok is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connection speed dropped.

      Changed the microfilter - no difference. Bear in mind that my speed changed overnight from 1.5Mb to 1.0Mb without any interference from me.

    9. #8
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,370
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connection speed dropped.

      Quote Originally Posted by mantorok View Post
      Ok, plugged it into the test socket, this is quite a new master socket without the bell wire:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1019 kbps 606 kbps
      Line Attenuation 54.0 db 28.7 db
      Noise Margin 8.5 db 15.0 db
      You need to get onto sky and report a slow speed, there has to be a fault in the external line somewhere, contact sky and hopefully they will try to get it sorted.

    10. #9
      mantorok's Avatar
      mantorok is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connection speed dropped.

      Quote Originally Posted by Andy17 View Post
      You need to get onto sky and report a slow speed, there has to be a fault in the external line somewhere, contact sky and hopefully they will try to get it sorted.
      Yep I've contacted sky via email, will see what happens...

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Connection speed dropped.

      You have to get Sky to put you back on G.DMT. Being on ADSL2+ is your problem, your line can't handle it. Phone them and tell them ADSL2+ has crippled your speed and you want put back to what you had before. Tier one will be of little help, you have to convince them you need to be put through to CST.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION