Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    LLU'ed = 10% loss in speed....

    This is a discussion on LLU'ed = 10% loss in speed.... within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hey all at skyuser My local exchange (DY2) was LLU 'ed by sky at the start of this month & ...

    1. #1
      Thonk's Avatar
      Thonk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: dudley
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      LLU'ed = 10% loss in speed....

      Hey all at skyuser

      My local exchange (DY2) was LLU'ed by sky at the start of this month & since then i've have had about 10% loss in speed (was 9mb before LLU now 7.5 to 7.9mb)

      Ive trade email's with sky support about this over the past week or so (i tryed the phone but the women i spoke to clearly had no clue about anything that wasnt part of her flow chart at refused to pass me on to someone in the know) they are adament that there are no barriers or limits on my line (& quote)

      "the only impediments are the global ones that affect all broadband connections such as age of cabling and distance from the exchange

      There have been changes to your exchange, you have been migrated to our newest and most up-to-date equipment in your exchange, and this will result in a much better control of your line and its attributes."


      & That the max it could now support would be 8.1mb,so why bother to replace equpiment at an exchange when it results in a loss of service speed ????

      The cynic in me thinks may be they've over subscribed and started to rob peter to pay paul so to say....

      Also in the few weeks before LLU i had the pleasure of having my line DML'ed on 2 ocassions during aug both times without any headsup from sky...which seems a bit dumb if your LLU'ing an exchange in the next few weeks dont you think?

      Router Stats :

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 7760 kbps 767 kbps
      Line Attenuation 45.5 db 26.8 db
      Noise Margin 8.4 db 16.0 db

      ....btw id had a 9mb connection for about 3 years,& ive done all the cable /faceplate/test socket tests still no change/improvement

      So an Improvment that is not an Improvment nice spin SKY...


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: LLU'ed = 10% loss in speed....

      Your local exhange (Dudley) has had a Sky LLU service for a number of years. You sure you don't mean that they've gone onto the new ADSL2+ package (SVBN)?

      All Sky have done is allowed DLM to cap your speed giving you a more stable connection. Simply ring them up saying that you've improved your wiring and would like the cap removing. You could also ask to be put back on G.DMT to see if that gives back your original connection speed.

    4. #3
      Thonk's Avatar
      Thonk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: dudley
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: LLU'ed = 10% loss in speed....

      Hi Neilmcl

      thanks for the reply

      Forgive my counfusion over the LLU,when i first contacted Sky CS i was told that LLU improvements were due at my exchange i wasnt given any details

      Ive been told atleast 3 times now that there is no form of DLM or capping on my line,heres a quote from my first reply from SKY support

      "Sorry for the delay in replying to your message.

      I have had a look at your line configuration and have now disabled the DLM, I have reconfigured your line, however it won't come above 7908 / 768 Kbps"


      Im awaitting a reply from my last exchange and will ask as you suggest to try putting me back to G.DMT to see if that will improve things...i'll post back if theres any change

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: LLU'ed = 10% loss in speed....

      Something may have happened to your line. You must have been on ADSL2+ before as Sky did not supply more than 8 Mb on G.DMT. Do you have a record of your previous stats?
      On the chance that your internal wiring is causing the problem, try plugging into your Test socket if you have one and see if there is a change in the noise margin.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      mrmt32's Avatar
      mrmt32 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: West Malling
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      277
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 80 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: LLU'ed = 10% loss in speed....

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Something may have happened to your line. You must have been on ADSL2+ before as Sky did not supply more than 8 Mb on G.DMT.
      He could have been on G.DMT, I had 9Mbit G.DMT for a long while. It's not standard sky practice to do it but some people at CST sometimes set it to that.

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: LLU'ed = 10% loss in speed....

      He could have been on G.DMT,
      That's true, G.DMT is capable of 12Mb, although Sky limit it to 8. I have never seen stats showing over 8Mb on G.DMT, but it could happen. I have seen stats which were well over 16 Mb before the recent rises, so obviously individual agents can set the limit higher.

      A line as short as this should handle ADSL2+ easily, that is why I suggest there is a line problem.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION