Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 18

    Sky Unlimited Speed Help

    This is a discussion on Sky Unlimited Speed Help within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi guys, Having some problems with my sky broadband unlimited, These are the speeds we are getting. Was hoping for ...

    1. #1
      Soundas's Avatar
      Soundas is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky Unlimited Speed Help

      Hi guys,

      Having some problems with my sky broadband unlimited, These are the speeds we are getting.

      Was hoping for some help in making it better.

      Router Statistics:

      System Up Time: 01:01:03
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 27765 35267 0 1686 5205 00:58:01
      LAN 100M/Full 35759 29125 0 5210 1810 01:00:58
      WLAN 11M/54M 379 0 0 9 0 01:00:46
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 378 kbps 554 kbps
      Line Attenuation 61 db 38 db
      Noise Margin 16 db 9 db

      Speedtest Result

      Its a wired connection though the router is a Netgear DG934G-1, Distance from exchange is 2.28 miles.

      Any help would be greatly appreciated


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky Unlimited Speed Help

      For a start, plug into your Test socket, see link below, if you have one and post your stats from there. If you do not have an NTE5 box, remove the faceplate of your Master socket and remove the wire from terminal 3 at the back of the faceplate. Unplug everything else you have plugged into the phone circuit and take your stats from the Master socket.

      ::. Kitz - Improve your adsl connection speed .::

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      Soundas's Avatar
      Soundas is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Unlimited Speed Help

      Ok did all that and:


      Router Statistics


      System Up Time: 00:03:08
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 1134 1404 0 5056 10250 00:02:17
      LAN 100M/Full 1519 1294 0 8010 4038 00:03:03
      WLAN 11M/54M 58 0 0 63 0 00:02:50
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 378 kbps 700 kbps
      Line Attenuation 61 db 38 db
      Noise Margin 25 db 8 db

      Speedtest Result

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky Unlimited Speed Help

      They stats from your test socket show that your internal wiring is causing problems. If it is convenient to do so leave the router connected to the test socket for the time being and phone Sky. Tell them you have made improvements to your wiring and would like your line reconfigured for its best speed.

      As a permanent solution, buy, fit and use one of these.
      XTE-2005 Filtered Master Faceplate - ADSL Nation

      You can then put your other sockets back into use.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      Soundas's Avatar
      Soundas is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Unlimited Speed Help

      Thanks for your help, I'm on the phone to sky now so hopefully something will be sorted quickly. I've also ordered one of those Filtered Master Faceplate.

      I will report back and let you know if it gets better.

      Thanks again

    7. #6
      Soundas's Avatar
      Soundas is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Unlimited Speed Help

      Just got off the phone with Sky and after them testing the line and everything they have said they have to get BT engineer to come out.

      Which is happening tomorrow so hopefully by then it will all be sorted out.

      Isitme thanks for all your help its greatly appreciated, Great site you guys have here

      It has actually getting a little better now, But i'm guessing its nowhere near where it should be.

      Router Statistics

      System Up Time: 01:14:18
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 2179 2186 0 1611 3210 00:08:45
      LAN 100M/Full 11419 11077 0 1989 1008 01:14:13
      WLAN 11M/54M 377 0 0 13 0 01:14:00
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 507 kbps 606 kbps
      Line Attenuation 75 db 38 db
      Noise Margin 12 db 9 db

    8. #7
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Sky Unlimited Speed Help

      you must be on a long line with a 75 attenuation - you're also on adsl2+ which probably isn'y good for your line...

      saying that, you're never gonna get great speed with a line like that...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    9. #8
      Soundas's Avatar
      Soundas is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Unlimited Speed Help

      The silly thing is its a brand new line was only fitted when we got Sky installed lol.

    10. #9
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Sky Unlimited Speed Help

      its still loooooooong though...you're on the limit for BB at all...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky Unlimited Speed Help

      I don't believe it! All they had to do was uncap the line. Not put it on ADSL2+. I can almost guarantee that BT will find nothing wrong with the line, it is just not capable of supporting ADSL2+.

      I would phone Sky back and ask them to put you back on G.DMT. With a bit of luck you will get someone like IANTE, who will be able to fix you up.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION