Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    A good line autenation = ??

    This is a discussion on A good line autenation = ?? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Now that I'm connected and up and running (3 day delay) I'm wondering what a good line autenation is. I'm ...

    1. #1
      WiBu's Avatar
      WiBu is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      A good line autenation = ??

      Now that I'm connected and up and running (3 day delay) I'm wondering what a good line autenation is.

      I'm currently getting 7200kbps (as the router states) and I'm getting download speeds of 750kb/s... awesome. I have no complaints.

      However, I'm just wondering what is a good line autenation figure and which is not. Is lower better or is higher better?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts
      40 is OK, 30 is good, <20 is fantastic.

      What's yours? With a connection speed of 7200 I'd guess somewhere around 45 unless you've got a noise problem in which case it will be lower.

    4. #3
      WiBu's Avatar
      WiBu is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Correct. Thanks for the knowledge.
      Last edited by Wheelie; 27-09-06 at 05:40 PM. Reason: Please do not quote the preceding post.Please use QUOTE sparingly please use @User Name this helps keep the forum tidy thanks

    5. #4
      Julian's Avatar
      Julian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      50
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by Saturday View Post
      40 is OK, 30 is good, <20 is fantastic.

      What's yours? With a connection speed of 7200 I'd guess somewhere around 45 unless you've got a noise problem in which case it will be lower.
      I still don't understand the connection between attenuation and noise. You say above that if there is a noise problem then the attenuation will be LOWER? Did I understand that right, i.e. the attenuation will be descreased if there is a noise problem? Since low attenuation is good then how does a noise problem get you better attenuation figures? If someone with a noisy like can get better attenuation then why don't they give someone without a noise problem the same better attenuation?

      I'm still struggling to understand my figures from my current ISP (UK Online). I get exactly the same sync speed as WiBu (7200 down). My attenuation is 39 but my noise is currently 3 (which is actually pretty good, it's often down to 2). What I just don't understand is that, from hundreds of other posts here, an SNR of 2, or even 3, is the point where people seem to get disconnects or speeds slowing to < 1Mb levels, but I've never had any disconnects and my sync speeds stays constantly at 7200. I'm confused.

      - Julian

    6. #5
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Hi Julian

      If you go >>Here<< it should help you understand how it works better.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    7. #6
      Julian's Avatar
      Julian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      50
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Wow. Thank you Ray. You are such a fantastic contributor here.

      For what it's worth, here is what I think is the killer quote from that web page re my situation:

      "Some ADSL kit reports noise margin, which is the number of dB of signal you have above the point at which the hardware will not function. The Signal to noise ratio is usually a simple expression of the difference in measured noise levels and attenuation, and as such most kit will stop working at a SNR of 6dB. Confusingly some kit displays noise margin when it means SNR. So you cannot be 100% certain what you are looking at."

      In my very first post about my noise confusion I idly speculated that one possibility was that my router was reporting it wrong. Well, now that I read the screen with fully open eyes after understanding the above then I see that my router isn't actually displaying "SNR", the thing it is displaying is actually "SNR Margin" which tallies exactly with the above.

      Thanks so much for that link Ray, you have helped to completely clear up my confusion on this.

      - Julian
      Last edited by Wheelie; 28-09-06 at 01:11 PM. Reason: Please do not quote the preceding post.Please use QUOTE sparingly please use @User Name this helps keep the forum tidy thanks

    8. #7
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      NP Julian

      Thats what the site is for and the many people who do post on here to help out do tend to understand more than the novice, I think even Saturday will agree with me here. Even we learn new stuff as we go along as well
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION