Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    New modem from sky can you tell me if stats ok?

    This is a discussion on New modem from sky can you tell me if stats ok? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi just got a new modem off sky i have provided my test socket and filtered faceplate results can you ...

    1. #1
      lynnwood1's Avatar
      lynnwood1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: denton burn
      Broadband ISP: 02
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: 02 standard
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      82
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      New modem from sky can you tell me if stats ok?

      Hi

      just got a new modem off sky i have provided my test socket and filtered faceplate results can you please tell me if they look right?

      I did previously have a line attenuation of 44 now looks like 48.

      Anyway must also mention that usually as the day goes on the line noise lowers and eventually resets over night and i find i am connected at a lower speed which i switch computer on the following day.

      Any advice appreciated in advance

      TEST SOCKET RESULTS:-

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 9 9 0 1 2 00:04:44
      LAN 100M/Full 259 382 0 301 138 00:05:46
      WLAN 11M/54M 194 0 0 43 0 00:05:34
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5472 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 48 db 27 db
      Noise Margin 8 db 11 db


      FILTERED FACEPLATE RESULTS (adsl v10)

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 26 62 0 17 138 00:03:05
      LAN 100M/Full 919 1114 0 740 206 00:11:21
      WLAN 11M/54M 400 0 0 43 0 00:11:09
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5472 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 48 db 27 db
      Noise Margin 7 db 12 db


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New modem from sky can you tell me if stats ok?

      As we've said to you before, you clearly have a line quality issue with your external line and I'm afraid that this is the best speed you're going to get for now.

      Are you 100% sure that when you remove the faceplate no other socket in the house is still active? Do you have an alarm connected to the line?

      Still, 5.5mbps is reasonable.

      As far as the reconnection at night is concerned you may have an issue with REIN but this notoriously difficult to tie down. I'd suggest downloading a copy of Routerstats Lite - Internet Software and set it running over a couple of nights to see if there's a pattern. If the problem persists contact Sky again and tell them about your constant disconnections, hopefully if you get through to CST you can mention the REIN (pronounced "rain") possibility and ask them to escalate it to BT Openreach.

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: New modem from sky can you tell me if stats ok?

      I did previously have a line attenuation of 44 now looks like 48.
      Your previous router showed an attenuation of 47dbs, different routers will nearly always show a different figure. This can vary 1 or 2 dbs either way, it is nothing to worry about.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      lynnwood1's Avatar
      lynnwood1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: denton burn
      Broadband ISP: 02
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: 02 standard
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      82
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New modem from sky can you tell me if stats ok?

      whats the quality issue with my line then and who do i need to contact?

    6. #5
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,370
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New modem from sky can you tell me if stats ok?

      Quote Originally Posted by lynnwood1 View Post
      whats the quality issue with my line then and who do i need to contact?
      You would need to contact who ever you paid your line rental to, But unless there is noise on the line when you pick the phone up BT would probally do nothing about it, or it could cost you to get them to do it.

    7. #6
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New modem from sky can you tell me if stats ok?

      Quote Originally Posted by lynnwood1 View Post
      whats the quality issue with my line then and who do i need to contact?
      By contacting Sky as I suggested above you'll hopefully be able to get them to escalate it to BTO who should send out an engineer to take a look. Apart from the various tests they do, hopefully they'll look at sorting out your external wiring in the first instance, both outside your property and at the exchange. Maybe this'll improve things. No guarantee though.

    8. #7
      lynnwood1's Avatar
      lynnwood1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: denton burn
      Broadband ISP: 02
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: 02 standard
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      82
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New modem from sky can you tell me if stats ok?

      thanks for all the help so far but what indicates within my stats that there is an external problem with my line and what justification would i need to give to sky talk who i pay my line rental to. What should my speeds and stats be if the ones i am showing for some reason your telling me have issues?

    9. #8
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New modem from sky can you tell me if stats ok?

      With that line attentuation, given a decent line you should be seeing a connection speed of 6-7 mbps, maybe a bit more. The fact that you weren't getting this, even connected to the test socket and before they capped your speed then this suggest an issue with the line externally.

      If, however, you are happy with the speeds you have and 5.5mbps is fairly reasonable then I suggest you just accept it. If you want something done about it then as I suggested use the fact that you're getting constant disconnections at night to get Sky to send out an engineer to look into it and hopefully they'll improve any issues with external cabling.

      This has nothing to do with Sky Talk, unless you can physically hear noise on your telephone line, it is a Broadband issue.

    10. #9
      lynnwood1's Avatar
      lynnwood1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: denton burn
      Broadband ISP: 02
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: 02 standard
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      82
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New modem from sky can you tell me if stats ok?

      ok once again thanks for all your time and effort its really appreciated i will keep an eye on the situation as noise margin usually goes down but since i installed new modem its stuck rock solid for now....12 hours on 7 so if it stays like that and i dont get disconnections when i switch my computer on tomo i will be happy enough with that until i swap over to 02 when i should see better speeds like you previously mentioned

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION